Holiday Sale! Save 20% on a BookBrowse membership - for yourself or to give as a gift.

Reviews of Dead of Winter by P.J. Parrish

Dead of Winter

by P.J. Parrish

Dead of Winter by P.J. Parrish X
Dead of Winter by P.J. Parrish
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Jan 2001, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In the quaint tourist town of Loon Lake, a killer is taking his vengeance. One by one police officers are found brutally executed. Detective Louis Kincaid has landed in the middle of an investigation that is more than a mystery, it's a terrifying journey into the nightmare mind of a madman.

Some Fears Are Never Laid to Rest. In the quaint tourist town of Loon Lake, Michigan, a killer is taking his vengeance. One by one, the bodies of Loon Lake’s police officers are found, brutally executed, with mysteriously coded death cards placed beside each corpse — the gruesome signature of a psychopath. And the only sound louder than doors and windows being locked against evil is the sound of hearts beating in terror.

Detective Louis Kincaid had returned to Michigan to forget the horrors of what happened to him in Mississippi. But now, he has landed in the middle of an investigation that is more than a mystery. It is a warning of bad things to come...of a terrifying journey through a town’s fiercely protected heart of darkness…and into the nightmare mind of a madman.

It was just a dull thud, a sound that drifted down to him as he lay in the deepest fathoms of his sleep. He struggled up to the surface and opened his eyes with a start. Darkness, and then, emerging from the shadows, a bulky form and a glint of light. He let out a breath. Just the oak bureau, and his badge laying on top.

The sound had probably come from his dream, and the thought made him relax back into the pillows. But his ears remained alert for foreign sounds amid all the familiar groans and squeaks of the house.

He glanced over at Stephanie, snoring softly by his side. She always kidded him about his excellent hearing. "Tommy, baby, you can hear the snow falling," she laughed. Hell, sometimes he thought so, too. He pulled the quilt up over his wife’s shoulder and swung his legs over the side of the bed.

He rose, shivering in the cold air, and went to the window. He pulled back the drape. Sure enough, it was snowing. Already covered the yard, leaving pillows of ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Baltimore Sun
Snow falls and so do the sinister hints. Things loom but they're never what they seem -- especially not for a black man in a mostly white town. Unfamiliar with Loon Lake, Kincaid nevertheless manages to work out who's killing his fellow police officers and why. Along the way, he makes some discoveries about his own prejudices and burdens. Dead of Winter moves briskly, pulling the reader along for an invigorating ride.

Chicago Tribune - Chris Petrakos
This brisk, tight police procedural is set in the bucolic but obviously dangerous town of Loon Lake, Mich. It's clear somebody is holding a major league grudge against the Loon Lake police and it's up to Louis Kincaid to find out who and why. His search forms the bulk of this fast-paced, well-conceived yarn.

Publishers Weekly
Parrish deftly depicts the empty winter landscape and the relentless intensity of the killer's pursuit. A suspenseful tale of a man who must question his principles and loyalties, Parrish's latest will appeal to those seeking a fast-paced thriller propelled by a cast of charismatic characters.

Reader Reviews

Walt

A potentially good story with low high school level dialogue.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Dead of Winter, try these:

  • The Art of Detection jacket

    The Art of Detection

    by Laurie R. King

    Published 2007

    About this book

    More by this author

    Kate Martinelli is investigating the death of Philip Gilbert, an avid Holmes collector who even transformed his home into a copy of 221B Baker Street, when she discovers what could be the motive: a previously unpublished story from Arthur Conan Doyle that could be worth millions

  • St Albans Fire jacket

    St Albans Fire

    by Archer Mayor

    Published 2006

    About this book

    More by this author

    In his 15th case, Joe Gunter will meet one of his deadliest opponents to date, and he will need far more than his skills as a policeman to protect the people closest to his heart.

We have 5 read-alikes for Dead of Winter, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by P.J. Parrish
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Holiday Sale!

Discover exceptional books
for just $3/month.

Find out more


Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: The Covenant of Water
    The Covenant of Water
    by Abraham Verghese
    BookBrowse Fiction Award 2023

    Along the Malabar Coast of South India in 1900, a 12-year-old girl ...
  • Book Jacket: In Memoriam
    In Memoriam
    by Alice Winn
    BookBrowse Debut Book Award 2023

    Alice Winn's remarkable debut, In Memoriam, opens in 1914 at ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wager
    The Wager
    by David Grann
    BookBrowse Nonfiction Award 2023

    David Grann is a journalist, a staff writer for The New Yorker and...
  • Book Jacket: Remember Us
    Remember Us
    by Jacqueline Woodson
    BookBrowse YA Book Award 2023

    Remember Us is set largely across a single hazy summer of the 1970s in...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Julia
by Sandra Newman
From critically acclaimed novelist Sandra Newman, a brilliantly relevant retelling of Orwell's 1984 from the point of Smith's lover, Julia.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Alfie and Me
    by Carl Safina

    A moving account of raising, then freeing, an orphaned screech owl. Three starred reviews!

  • Book Jacket

    The Roaring Days of Zora Lily
    by Noelle Salazar

    A glittering novel of family, love, ambition, and self discovery by the bestselling author of The Flight Girls.

Who Said...

There is no such thing as a moral or immoral book. Books are either well written or badly written. That is all.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.