Summary and book reviews of Take Me With You by Brad Newsham

Take Me With You

A Round-the-World Journey to Invite a Stranger Home

by Brad Newsham

Take Me With You
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2000, 376 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2002, 376 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A book you'll want to read and recommend over and over. With poignancy and persuasion, Newsham demonstrates the power individuals have to make the world a better place.

A free trip to America? To many this either sounds like a scam or a dream come true. But to Brad Newsham it was a a promise he made to himself. Someday, when I am rich, I am going to invite someone from my travels to visit me in America. Newsham was only 22 when he scribbled this note in his journal, with "only an immature sense of the staying power of ideas." He had no idea that years later he would make it his mission to fulfill the promise so casually made to his younger self. Or, that he wouldn have to be "rich" to make good on his word.

Newsham's Take Me with You tells a story that changes his own, the life of a stranger he has yet to meet, and the lives of those who read this hopeful, heartwarming account. How often do you encounter such a the story of a traveler whose central purpose is to give a trip to someone else, someone he randomly meets on the road? The world, according to Newsham, is a place in which individual people matter, in which the dream of one may touch the life of another. Take Me with You is the true account of Newsham 100-day journey through the Philippines, India, Egypt, Kenya, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, and South Africa, all the while seeking someone very special to invite back to America.

Take Me with You is a book you'll want to read and recommend over and over. With poignancy and persuasion, Newsham demonstrates the power individuals have to make the world a better place.

Chapter 1.
ONE HUNDRED DAYS

When it is a question of money, everyone is of the same religion.
– Voltaire

The cab driver glanced back at me. "You..." he said. "America?"

It was a Wednesday evening in early November–the pleasant, dry season in the Philippines–and a breeze with the feel of warm coconut milk was pouring through my open window. I’d studied a map on the plane: the blackness beyond the row of palm trees to our left would be Manila Bay. To our right a congregation of burlap lean-tos overflowed onto the sidewalk, and, between two of them, a woman was cooking something over a smoky fire.

"Yes," I said. "America. San Francisco."

"Ah, Cah-lee-for-nee-ah!" said the driver. "California best."

He slowed to acknowledge a red traffic signal, then, reassured, sailed through it. Above the meter were a license and photo identifying the taxi as Golden Cab Number Two (it was painted black) and the driver as Mr. Alfredo Errabo. At the airport ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Author Blurb Pico Lyer, author of Video Night in Kathmandu
For everyone who believes that travel is mostly about kindness and an open heart, Newsham is an ideal guide. He travels armed only with curiosity and a friendly trust, and brings back treasures that every wanderer might envy. His journey, at heart, is into humanity.

Author Blurb Jeff Greenwald, author of The Size of the World
In this era of conquests and ego-trips, it's refreshing and unusual to read a travel adventure that begins with a generous impulse. But Brad Newsham's global search for the perfect stranger--someone to invite home--is deceptively simple. We learn a lot about the world in this book, and we learn a lot about Newsham--and both of them are well worth knowing.

Author Blurb Adair Lara, San Francisco Chronicle columnist and author ofSlowing Down in a Speeded Up World
Take Me With You makes me sick with longing to travel. It is, at least, the next best thing.

Author Blurb Herbert Gold, author of Bohemia
Brilliant, sharp, unswerving, humorous travel writing by a man skilled at letting the scales fall from his eyes; it is a memoir of travel seen through time and resolve--in short, a wonderful book.

Author Blurb Jamie Zeppa, author of Between the Sky and the Earth
No travel book can be as satisfying as the journey itself, but this one comes close. Take Me With You brims with the very wondrous, startling, beautiful, strange--that make travel so stimulating, so perplexing, and so addictive.

Author Blurb Donna Levin, author of Extraordinary Means
Newsham takes all of us with him on this daring, fantastic, funny and informative journey to parts of the world that only the adventurous see. If you've been there, come visit again. If you haven't, read Take Me With You and find a reason to go.

Author Blurb Steve Zikman, author of The Power of Travel A Passport to Adventure, Discovery & Growth.
Brad has done it again. In surefooted language, rhythm and insight, he tugs at our traveler's heartstrings and greatest impulse. He brings us to places within and without, mirroring perfectly the questions that mesmerize and fascinate us the most.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Take Me With You, try these:

  • Monkey Dancing jacket

    Monkey Dancing

    by Daniel Glick

    Published 2004

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    For anyone who dreams of traveling to the world's most exotic places, for anyone already navigating that wild journey called parenting, Monkey Dancing is by turns fascinating, funny, and wise.

  • The Sex Lives of Cannibals jacket

    The Sex Lives of Cannibals

    by J. Maarten Troost

    Published 2004

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The laugh-out-loud true story of a harrowing and hilarious two-year odyssey on the distant South Pacific island nation of Kiribati—possibly The Worst Place on Earth.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 

© BookBrowse LLC 1997-2016. All rights reserved. Information at BookBrowse.com is published with the permission of the copyright holder or their agent.
It is forbidden to copy anything for publication elsewhere without written permission from the copyright holder.



X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.