Summary and book reviews of Rich Dad's Guide to Investing by Robert Kiyosaki

Rich Dad's Guide to Investing

What the Rich Invest in That the Poor and the Middle Class Do Not

by Robert Kiyosaki, Sharon L. Lechter

Rich Dad's Guide to Investing
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Jun 2000, 405 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Reveals the secrets of how the wealthiest Americans become even wealthier, and how all Americans can learn how to benefit from some simple investing secrets.

The rich get richer. The poor get poorer.

Robert Kiyosaki reveals the secrets of how the wealthiest Americans become even wealthier, and how ALL Americans can learn how to benefit from some simple investing secrets -- merely by knowing where and how to invest their money.

We've all heard that plaint many times before. But finally, that long standing monetary tradition has been shattered, as Kiyosaki explains how even the smallest investor can start benefitting from the investing patterns of the richest folks.

Robert Kiyosaki knows all this first hand. There was a time in the 1980s when he and his wife, Kim, were so cash poor that they were forced to sleep in their car. Today, however, the Kiyosakis are multi-millionaires, and are considered highly sophisticated investors.

Based upon the four tenets of Rich Dad, Poor Dad (are you an employee, self-employed, business owner, or an investor?) the Investing Guide explains the nuts-and-bolts approach to understanding the real earning power of money, and how you can start cashing today. Along the way, Kiyosaki explains how he's invested his monies as his own wealth has grown over the years.

Chapter 1

What Should I Invest In?
In 1973, I returned home from my tour of Vietnam. I felt fortunate to have been assigned to a base in Hawaii near home rather than to a base on the East Coast. After settling in at the Marine Corps Air Station, I called my friend Mike and we set up a time to have lunch together with his dad, the man I call my rich dad. Mike was anxious to show me his new baby and his new home so we agreed to have lunch at his house the following Saturday. When Mike’s limousine came to pick me up at the drab gray base BOQ, the Bachelor Officers’ Quarters, I began to realize how much had changed since we had graduated together from high school in 1965.
"Welcome home," Mike said as I walked into the foyer of his beautiful home with marble floors. Mike was beaming from ear to ear as he held his seven-month-old son. "Glad you made it back in one piece."

"So am I," I replied as I looked past Mike at the shimmering blue Pacific Ocean, which touched the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

USA Today

Rich Dad, Poor Dad is a starting point for anyone looking to gain control of their financial future.

Author Blurb Mark Victor Hansen, co-author, New York Times #1 bestseller Chicken Soup for the Soul series
If you want all insider wisdom on how to personally get and STAY rich, read this book! Bribe your kids (financially if you have to) to do the same.

Author Blurb Zig Ziglar, world-renowned autor and lecturer
To get over the top financially, you must read and market savvy for your financial future.

Reader Reviews

Lugarawa L. N.

THE BUSINESS SCHOOL
I am a book seller and one of my interests is to sell books. I can testify that Kiyosakis' Books are very useful and they have a wide readership spectrum. I brought the the Business School title in my bookstore and I can assure you all that the book ...   Read More

tavshan

ý thýnk your book ýs very good. ý and my frýends are gonna do wýth your advýce. We are 17 years old.we understand many thýngs and thanks to you.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Rich Dad's Guide to Investing, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.