MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of Tribunal by Nancy Hersage

Tribunal

by Nancy Hersage

Tribunal by Nancy Hersage X
Tribunal by Nancy Hersage
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Apr 2000, 350 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A fictionalized thriller that explores the very real social, economic and political questions surrounding today's global trade in sex slaves.

NOTE: At the time of writing this book is available as an e-book only - formats available are Rocket E-Book, Palm and PDF (anyone with a computer and free PDF software can read this format). Please contact the publisher to purchase a copy of this highly recommended title for only $7, (pay in dollars, sterling or Euros)- Online Originals



An American woman in Amsterdam is recuperating from a sudden illness, and happens to share her hospital room with a young Filipino mother. A few brief words are exchanged -- in which the Filipino makes a passionate plea for help -- before a mysterious man arrives and abruptly arranges for her to be discharged. Those few words are enough to draw the unsuspecting American into a life-threatening confrontation with an international criminal gang. The Filipino, it turns out, is one of thousands of women from poor countries who are tempted to leave their homes by the promise of a legitimate job -- and are then held captive for sexual exploitation. The American and the Filipino eventually join forces as part of a clandestine movement to set up an international tribunal that aims to seek retribution for these crimes against humanity. Inspired by a true story and based on extensive research, Tribunal is a fictionalised thriller that explores the very real social, economic and political questions surrounding today's global trade in sex slaves.

Chapter Four

Like a broken, free-falling tree branch, the helpless young family tumbled into the stream of rural migration that night, a stream which was making a swamp out of urban Manila. Their bus left before dawn packed with other migrants. The Pangils rode in a dazed uneasiness. Martin rode, too, attaching himself to the little group like the adolescent orphan he was. At sunrise, only he watched the rugged mountain-sides pass by with anticipation.

The bus arrived via the 'Epifanio de los Santos' highway, driving headlong into a concentration of ten million islanders all competing for the good life on the edge of Manila Bay.

Neither Nita nor Enrique could have imagined the extent of so much humanity, nor the energy of it all: traffic moving constantly, mountainous glass buildings growing straight up out of the tropical soil, the air choked with foreign, engine-oil fumes. People waited on every corner to ford each busy street. Clothes, radios and food produce spread out in ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly, April 2000
Hersage spins an enthralling tale, tackling this difficult subject with clear writing, strong characters and a brisk pace.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Tribunal, try these:

  • A Crime So Monstrous jacket

    A Crime So Monstrous

    by E. Benjamin Skinner

    Published 2009

    About this book

    To be a moral witness is perhaps the highest calling of journalism, and in this unforgettable, highly readable account of contemporary slavery, author Benjamin Skinner travels around the globe to personally tell stories that need to be told -- and heard.

  • Sold jacket

    Sold

    by Patricia McCormick

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More books by this author

    Although Lakshmi's family is desperately poor her life still contains simple pleasures; but, when the harsh Himalayan monsoons wash away all the family’s crops, Lakshmi’s stepfather sends her away to take a job to support her family. When she arrives at “Happiness House”, full of hope, she learns the unthinkable truth: she has...

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.