MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of The Carbohydrate Addict's Healthy Heart Program by Richard & Rachael Heller

The Carbohydrate Addict's Healthy Heart Program

Break Your Carbo-Insulin Connection to Heart Disease

by Richard & Rachael Heller, Dr Frederic J. Vagnini

The Carbohydrate Addict's Healthy Heart Program by Richard & Rachael Heller, Dr Frederic J. Vagnini X
The Carbohydrate Addict's Healthy Heart Program by Richard & Rachael Heller, Dr Frederic J. Vagnini
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1999, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2000, 448 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Clearly written, easy to implement into your busy life, and supported by inspiring true stories of triumph and transformation.

A groundbreaking discovery in heart disease prevention led the American Heart Association to hail this landmark research that pinpointed insulin as "the most statistically significant predictor of heart attack risk"--more than smoking, body mass index, triglyceride levels, and physical inactivity--and equal to cholesterol levels.

After years of medical research, the truth is out: too much insulin in your body can lead directly to heart disease, high blood pressure, diabetes, and excessive weight gain. What causes insulin levels to rise? Foods rich in carbohydrates--not just starches, salty snacks, and sweets--but even low-cal foods once thought to be good for you, such as salad with low-fat dressing, pita bread, diet soda, and vegetarian lasagna. Like millions of Americans, you, too, may experience intense and recurring carbohydrate cravings--a compelling hunger for foods that, in time, will wreak havoc on your body, drive up your insulin levels, and seriously compromise your health.

Now Drs. Richard and Rachael Heller, the New York Times bestselling authors of The Carbohydrate Addict's Diet, and cardiovascular surgeon, Dr. Frederic J. Vagnini, share their breakthrough program that incorporates all the latest findings to help prevent and reverse heart disease and its many damaging risk factors. Compatible with dietary guidelines as recommended by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the American Heart Association, and the American Cancer Society, The Carbohydrate Addict's Healthy Heart Program offers a safe, sensible, flexible, and easy-to-follow plan that will dramatically decrease or eliminate your cravings for high-carbohydrate foods in less than a week! Inside you'll discover

  • The importance of eating one carbo-rich, nutritionally balanced Reward Meal a day in tandem with other low-carbohydrate meals and snacks
  • How to balance insulin levels naturally with supplements, from chromium (which stabilizes insulin levels) to vitamin E (which modifies blood fats)
  • Which type of activity is right for you--and the strategies to stick with it
  • Helpful advice on over-the-counter remedies, stress reduction, and the complex carb alternatives to sweets
  • The potential breakthroughs of tomorrow--including cutting-edge facts on soy, omega-3 oils, beta-carotene, selenium, and lipoic acid
  • Names, phone numbers, and Web site addresses of resources that can offer you guidance, information, products, and support
  • Delicious low-carbohydrate recipes, from frittata to seafood salad--as well as sumptuous Reward Meal recipes, from pancakes supreme to potted pork roast
    The energy, clarity of thinking, and peace of mind that freedom from an addiction to carbohydrates can bring

Clearly written, easy to implement into your busy life, and supported by inspiring true stories of triumph and transformation, The Carbohydrate Addict's Healthy Heart Program will show how you can have the carbohydrates you need and love and still break insulin's stranglehold on your heart's health now--and for life!

I believe that things happen for a reason or, at least, that with the right attitude something good can come out of even the worst of experiences. I never really stopped believing this, although, for many years, when the challenges were hard and I was very young, I could have argued the other side quite well.

I don't have the simple childhood memories that so many people have of friends and playing games, of parties and adventures, and of a whole wide world to discover and explore. I remember sadness and pain and a permeating truth that seemed to shape my every action and every thought.

In a child's world of wanting to belong, I lived with the unforgiving fact that I was different.

In a child's world of wanting to belong, I lived with the unforgiving fact that I was different: I was fat. And every interaction--from my brother's unrelenting teasing to my classmates' ridicule to strangers' disapproving stares--told me in word and look that being fat was a...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly
This intelligently written book has much to offer those wanting to maintain a healthy heart.

Reader Reviews

Mozelle

A Carbohydrate Addict
This unusual self-help book is filled with questions and answers that will stimulate the reader into giving more thought about their diet and promotes positive soul-searching discussions about ones own health choices and living healthy...lessons for ...   Read More

Dana

Excellent, Informative, Logical, A plan I can live by...

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Carbohydrate Addict's Healthy Heart Program, try these:

  • Sugar Busters jacket

    Sugar Busters

    by H Leighton Steward

    Published 2003

    About this book

    Forget the fight against fat! Break the sugar-starch habit today and enjoy the foods you love as you get healthy and lose weight with Sugar Busters.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.