Summary and book reviews of The Cry of The Icemark by Stuart Hill

The Cry of The Icemark

by Stuart Hill

The Cry of The Icemark
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The Icemark is a kingdom in grave danger.
Its king has been killed in battle.
Its enemy lies in wait.
And its fate rests on the shoulders of one girl.

A beautiful princess and an intrepid warrior, Thirrin Freer Strong-in-the-Arm Lindenshield is only 13. But she has been preparing for this moment her whole life. Now she must find a way to protect her tiny kingdom from the most terrible invasion it has ever known. To beat back the cunning general Scipio Bellorum and his conquering army, Thirrin will forge an extraordinary coalition of noble Snow Leopards, ancient Vampires, and ferocious Wolf-folk. She will find unexpected strength in her friendship with a young warlock. And she will rally her allies with her country's fierce battle cry, "Blood! Blast! And Fire!"

A coming-of-age tale and an epic adventure, this dazzling debut heralds the arrival of a heroine who dauntless in the face of impossible dangers and decidedly wild at heart.

Winner of the Ottakar's Children's Book Prize 2005.

Chapter One

Thirrin Freer Strong-in-the-Arm Lindenshield carried her names with ease. She was thirteen years old, tall for her age, and could ride her horse as well as the best of her father's soldiers. She was also heir to the throne of the Icemark. Her tutor might add that she was attentive when she wanted to be, clever when she bothered to try, and had her father's temper. Few compared her to her mother, who had died when Thirrin was born. But those who remembered the proud young woman of the fierce Hypolitan people said that Thirrin was her double.

The soldier riding guard over her didn't care about any of this. They'd been hunting in the forest since dawn and he was cold and tired, but Thirrin showed no signs of wanting to go home. They were following a set of tracks she insisted were werewolf prints, and the soldier was afraid she might be right. He'd already eased the spears in his scabbard and had been riding with his shield on his ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
  • award image

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

What a great book! We read The Cry of the Icemark to our children (then 9 and 11) at our "morning reading parties" (half an hour before the start of the school day) and I can attest to the fact that there's nothing better for getting the day off to a good start than following Thirrin into battle!   (Reviewed by BookBrowse Review Team).

Full Review Members Only (402 words).

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Hill's debut novel is a sprawling military fantasy that benefits from a likable heroine and will appeal most to readers who enjoy getting swept up in a good, lengthy yarn. Ages 12+

Booklist

... for readers whose imaginations are stirred by clashes of pike and saber and lusty cries of "Blood! Blast! And Fire!" this extravagant first novel--especially its more swiftly paced latter half--offers ample rewards.

The Sunday Telegraph

.. the writing is as crisp and clear as the snowy landscape Hill depicts so beautifully.

The Independent

... a first novel with a distinctive and seductive voice.

The Bookseller

Hill opens up this new world to children with quite enviable talent; his ability to capture his reader's imagination is spectacular.

The Times

.. will have readers shivering with delight.

The Guardian - Philip Ardagh

... a supremely satisfying read which really deserves to be called a page-turner.

Reader Reviews

Da Chees3head

This book is great!
I would use emojis for this, but, I can't, I am on a computer. But, I love this book. So awesome, all for school too!

meggie

amazing book!!!!
The title of my review really sums up the book.

Jonathan

Awesome book
Stuart Hill's book, the Cry of the Icemark, is a amazingly written book about personal discovery and the fight that people have. Also The Cry of the Icemark is a great book that keeps you interested until the very last flip of the page. This book is ...   Read More

Rose

Awesome Read
This book I chose for my summer reading this year and I picked an excellent book to read. This book has action, hints of romance, and some violence as well but just the right amount. This book is good for anyone for any age!!!

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Stuart Hill was born in Leicester, in the East Midlands of England, where he still lives today. He has worked as a teacher and an archaeologist, and now balances life as both a bookseller and a writer.

When asked why he started writing he says, "I couldn't read or write until I was seven and I can still remember that almost magical feeling when those strange angular symbols actually began to have a meaning. I'm not exaggerating, I remember that the letters literally suddenly started to ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Cry of The Icemark, try these:

  • Eon jacket

    Eon

    by Alison Goodman

    Published 2010

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Action - a stunning magic system - swordplay galore for ages 12+.

  • The Red Wolf Conspiracy jacket

    The Red Wolf Conspiracy

    by Robert V. Redick

    Published 2010

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The Imperial Merchant Ship Chathrand is the last of her kind. Six hundred years old, the massive vessel dwarfs every other sailing craft in the world. It is on its most vital mission yet: to deliver a woman whose marriage will seal the peace between Arqual and its mortal enemy. But the ship's true mission is not peace but war.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.