Summary and book reviews of Man Eater by Ray Shannon

Man Eater

by Ray Shannon

Man Eater by Ray Shannon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2003, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2004, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Fast, furious, and laugh-out-loud funny, Man Eater is a stylish, cinematic thriller fans of Tinseltown high adventure are sure to enjoy.

Drop-dead gorgeous Ronnie Deal is an up-and-comer at Velocity Pictures, whose enviable, fast-paced Hollywood lifestyle takes a major detour after a really bad day at the office. Fuming at the Tiki Shack Bar over a rival's latest attempt to derail her career, Ronnie comes to the rescue of a girl being beaten by an angry thug, unaware that Antsy Carruth has stolen twenty-five grand from her drug mule ex-boyfriend, and hired enforcer Neon Polk has been sent to get the money back. When Ronnie batters Polk unconscious with a beer bottle and Antsy takes a powder, Polk, humiliated and blinded with rage, seeks vengeance.

But people in The Business don't call Ronnie "Raw Deal" for nothing, and Polk won't have his revenge without paying for it. Enter Ellis Langford, ex-con and aspiring screenwriter. Langford has an angry ex-wife, a long-lost child, and a pair of Hispanic killers who want him dead, but if showing Ronnie how to make a real "killing" will earn him the Hollywood payday he's after . . .

Fast, furious, and laugh-out-loud funny, Man Eater is a stylish, cinematic thriller fans of Tinseltown high adventure are sure to enjoy.

Chapter One

IT WAS A typical Hollywood story: At 10:22 Wednesday morning, Ronnie Deal had Brad Pitt; at 4:51 that same afternoon, she didn't.

These things happened to movie producers, of course. Star players drifted in and out of film projects like children on a sugar high running from room to room. No one understood this better than Ronnie. But sometimes the sudden downturn in a producer's fortunes had nothing to do with the cruel hand of fate and everything to do with simple subterfuge. Sometimes the key talent attached to a project went away not on a whim, but because somebody somewhere pushed a button. That was what had happened to Ronnie today. She was certain of it. Brad Pitt's bailout from Trouble Town had Andy Gleason's handwriting all over it.

From her lonely little corner table in the back shadows of the Tiki Shack bar, Ronnie allowed the realization to bring her to a slow boil.

There were all kinds of rivals in the film business--crosstown ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Few things were admired more in Hollywood than the clean kill... better that you were known for having once cut an adversary's heart out with a scalpel than disemboweled him with a pickax. This is the essence of newcomer Shannon's view of the movie business, and it sums up both the sardonic humor and offhanded brutality of this clever thriller....This novel is a must for fans of Leonard, Wambaugh and Hiaasen.

Kirkus Reviews

Life is like the movie business in this lean, funny thriller about a producer scrambling to save her life and career.

Reader Reviews

Nataliw

great Read!
What a fun story, totally enjoyed myself!

Paul M

A fun, fast read. Looking forward to more of Ray Shannon work!

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Man Eater, try these:

  • Smoke Screen jacket

    Smoke Screen

    by Kyle Mills

    Published 2004

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Mills explores the controversial subject of Big Tobacco in a chilling and timely business thriller.

  • Monkeewrench jacket

    Monkeewrench

    by P.J. Tracy

    Published 2004

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The odd-ball crew of a software company create a computer game where the good guy always wins, but their game becomes a nightmare when someone starts duplicating the fictional murders in real life.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Good Me Bad Me
    Good Me Bad Me
    by Ali Land
    Is a psychopath born or made? This is the terrifying question that author Ali Land explores in her ...
  • Book Jacket: Five-Carat Soul
    Five-Carat Soul
    by James McBride
    In the short story "Sonny's Blues," from the 1965 collection Going to Meet the Man, African-...
  • Book Jacket: This Blessed Earth
    This Blessed Earth
    by Ted Genoways
    For the Hammonds, a farming family in Nebraska, the 2014 harvest season started with a perfect storm...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

"A powerful, provocative debut ... Intelligent, honest, and unsentimental." - Kirkus, starred review

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Seven Days of Us
    by Francesca Hornak

    A warm, wry debut novel about a family forced to spend a week together over the holidays.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.