Summary and book reviews of Power To The Patient by Isadore Rosenfeld M.D.

Power To The Patient

The Treatments to Insist on When You're Sick

by Isadore Rosenfeld M.D.

Power To The Patient
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2002, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2003, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Spells out the specific tests and medications to insist on, when to insist on a second opinion, and when to insist on being hospitalized. In short, virtually everything you need to know when you're sick.

Health care is not what it used to be. House calls are a thing of the past, doctors are spending less time with their patients, while managed care and other insurers are often paying for the least expensive—and not necessarily the best—treatment. As a result, there's really no way to know whether you're receiving the best possible therapy when you're sick. Now bestselling author Dr. Isadore Rosenfeld, one of America's best-known and most trusted physicians, arms you with the facts you need to make sure you are getting the best care.

Power To The Patient

Written for the layman with the author's trademark sense of humor, this book contains the latest proven information on the proper diagnosis and treatment of almost forty of the most common ailments that afflict Americans. It spells out the specific tests and medications to insist on, when to insist on a second opinion, and when to insist on being hospitalized. In short, virtually everything you need to know when you're sick.

The information contained in Power To The Patient will enable you to work with your doctor to obtain the best possible care. For example, you'll discover:

  • What silent infection most commonly destroys the liver, how and when to be tested for it, and what treatments can save your life
  • The evidence that Chronic Fatigue Syndrome is a real disease and how you can deal with it
  • When mitral valve prolapse calls for prophylactic antibiotics—and when it doesn't
  • The constellation of symptoms that should alert you to insist on a screen for ovarian cancer
  • The most reliable blood test for diagnosing Lyme disease
  • The vital difference between irritable bowel disease and inflammatory bowel disease
    ...and much more.

Power To The Patient contains information that can save your life.

INFORMATION IS POWER!
Most doctors spend little time with their patients these days and health insurance companies seem to be more concerned with their budgets than with your well-being. This book arms you with the facts you need to make sure that in today's world of impersonal health care you get the best possible treatments.

Do you know:

  • What three tests to insist on before accepting the diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease?
  • The first test to insist on when you suffer an acute stroke?
  • What four tests to insist on when you have an irregular heartbeat?
  • Which stress test to insist on if you suspect you're having an angina attack?
  • What anti-viral drug to insist on when you have shingles and why your doctor should prescribe it within seventy-two hours after your symptoms appear?
  • What two drugs to insist on if you have hepatitis C?
  • What test to insist on if you are told you have sleep apnea?
  • The single most important test to insist on if you have a lump in your thyroid gland?

You'll find the answers to these and hundreds of other key questions in...Power To The Patient

ACNE
When Zits Are the Pits

There are at least ten different forms of acne, two of which are extremely important: acne vulgaris (meaning "common," not "vulgar") and acne rosacea (adult acne). The former is the subject of this chapter.

Acne vulgaris is a skin disorder that plagues most teenagers and young adults. It starts in puberty and can persist into young adult life. Some 80 percent of us develop the pimples and bumps of acne vulgaris some time or another while we're growing up. In most cases, the pimples (often referred to as zits) and their variants—blackheads, whiteheads, pustules, and cysts—as a rule clear up by the mid to late twenties, but they can last longer. They are not usually severe, but can have a serious impact on physical or emotional health when they recur and persist in large numbers on the face, the shoulders, the neck, and the upper back.

Acne vulgaris runs in families; if any of your close family members have it, chances are you do, or will, ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Power To The Patient, try these:

  • The Healthy Kitchen jacket

    The Healthy Kitchen

    by Andrew Weil, M.D., Rosie Daley

    Published 2003

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    An inspiring, easy-to-use cookbook - not a diet book. It is a lively guide to healthy cooking, day-by-day, packed with essential information and, above all, filled with enticing food.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.