Summary and book reviews of Saving Elijah by Fran Dorf

Saving Elijah

by Fran Dorf

Saving Elijah
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Jun 2000, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The story of a mother's love for her son, set against a struggle with faith, big-time grief, and what it means to be human.

Psychologist Dinah Rosenberg Galligan, securely married to her college sweetheart, Sam, is hurled into a waking nightmare when their youngest child, Elijah, falls into a life-threatening coma.

Amid the technological marvels of a major medical center Dinah meets the mysterious Seth Lucien. A vain, sexy spirit with a surprising connection to Dinah's troubled past, and a master seducer's awareness of her secret fears and regrets, Seth haunts the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit where Elijah dreamlessly sleeps. Claiming to know the future, he tempts Dinah with a simple deal: her son's life for the use of her body. What parent wouldn't willingly accept the trade?

Fran Dorf, a spellbinding writer of psychological suspense, pilots this Faustian tale with total assurance. Laced with unexpected humor and passion, Saving Elijahis at its core the story of a mother's love for her son, set against a struggle with faith, big-time grief, and what it means to be human.

Prologue


When the woman phoned, I couldn't place her name until she said she was Maggie's mother. Then I knew.

They'd made quite a pair at the hospital, my son and her daughter. Eight-year-old Maggie was stricken and hairless and exhausted, her ashen face steroid-bloated beyond all reason. Five-year-old Elijah, with his thick glasses and crossed eyes, looked like a weird little Martian, his red-blond curls pasted to his skull with goop, an electrode and wire bonnet attaching him to a rolling EEG machine. He giggled when he saw himself in the mirror.

"Yes, I remember now."

I stood in my darkened bedroom, the phone hot against my ear. I could hear my children's laughter like the pealing of chimes through the house. Kate, fifteen, and Alex, fourteen, were amusing Elijah with a game of tag.

"Maggie's well again," the woman whispered.

Why was she calling me? She wasn't my friend; I'd only met her that once.

"Did you hear me, Mrs. Galligan?" she said. "Maggie's ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
Plot Summary

Psychologist Dinah Rosenberg Galligan is living every mother’s nightmare: her youngest child, Elijah, has fallen into a life-threatening coma. Faced with a seemingly hopeless situation, Dinah meets the mysterious Seth Lucien, a spirit with a surprising connection to her past. Lucien promises to help Elijah emerge from his coma but at a devastating cost: the miracle comes only after Dinah enters into a Faustian bargain; her son is saved, but her entire world begins to crumble

At its core, Saving Elijah is a gripping literary tale of a mother’s love set against a struggle with faith. Laced with humor and passion, the novel confronts a multitude of psychological and philosophical issues, from the forces that bind ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Wall Street Journal

Ambitious, imaginative, and beautifully done.

Glamour

Fascinating, skillful, a fiercely compelling read.

Washington Post

Wrenching and poignant. Avoids easy mysticism or psychologizing. A tough minded interrogative approach to grief.

Columbus Alive

Totally engrossing. Dorf turns the spotlight on maternal grief and exposes much of what has been mostly unspoken by those outside this sad sisterly circle. The emotions rendered here cut right to the bone. Once you experience this well written and compelling story, you will be strangely uplifted and better able to face life’s complications head on.

Publishers Weekly

[A] stunning third novel that crackles with suspense, dark humor, and provocative questions.....a spellbinding novel of psychological suspense, and meditates, with honesty and insight, on the nature of parental love and responsibility.

Author Blurb Susan Isaacs, author of Shining Through
A moving tale of a mother haunted by the grave illness of her son and by a demon from her past. But it is more a rich and compelling story of faith, grief, guilt, ghosts, God, and ultimately, hope.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Saving Elijah, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.