Summary and book reviews of The Secret of Shambhala by James Redfield

The Secret of Shambhala

In Search of the Eleventh Insight

by James Redfield

The Secret of Shambhala
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 1999, 238 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2001, 238 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

'Open yourself to this adventure and the experience will stretch your worldview and leave you determined to channel your thoughts and wishes into a dynamic force that can help you liberate your life.'

The power of our vision and expectation flows out from us as a constant prayer. This power is stronger than anyone now knows, and we must master it and begin to use it before it is too late." --from The Secret of Shambhala

When James Redfield first wrote his #1 New York Times bestseller The Celestine Prophecy, millions of readers passed it from hand to hand across America, discovering within its pages a life-affirming truth about synchronicity, intuition, and personal destiny. Now, in Redfield's newest book, the inspiring journey of The Celestine Prophecy and its sequel, The Tenth Insight, continues, carrying us to a new adventure and new spiritual truths that are now emerging in human awareness.

The Secret Of Shambhala

In the remote snow-covered mountains near Tibet lies a community long thought to be a mere myth called Shambhala, or Shangri-La. Here, in this place, is knowledge that has been kept hidden for centuries--and an insight that can have profound impact on the way each of us lives our lives.

Your search for Shambhala begins with the words of a child and the vision of an old friend. Those slender clues and a powerful synchronicity will lead to Kathmandu, Nepal, and then to Lhasa, Tibet. Amid blowing snows and perilous mountains, you will meet the secret Tibetan sect that guards the mysterious legends--the verbal instructions handed down for centuries that describe the inner changes one must undergo before entering Shambhala.

Finally, with Chinese agents in pursuit, you will pass through regions where anger and compassion struggle for ascendancy, and arrive at a place where the stunning reality about human prayer-energy--our underdeveloped ability to increase the synchronicity in our lives and influence what will happen to us in the future--is about to be revealed.

Like James Redfield's other books, The Secret Of Shambhala has a parable effect. Open yourself to this adventure and the experience will stretch your worldview and leave you determined to channel your thoughts and wishes into a dynamic force that can help you liberate your life, enhance others, and actively change the world.

The phone rang and I just stared at it. The last thing I needed now was another distraction. I tried to push it from my mind, gazing out the window at the trees and wildflowers, hoping to lose myself in the array of fall colors in the woods around my house. It rang again, and I got a vague but stirring image in my mind's eye of a person needing to talk with me. Quickly I reached over and answered it.

"Hello."

"It's Bill," a familiar voice said. Bill was an agronomy expert who had been helping me with my garden. He lived down the ridge only a few hundred yards.

"Listen, Bill, can I call you back later?" I said. "I've got this deadline."

"You haven't met my daughter, Natalie, yet, have you?"

"Excuse me?"

No reply.

"Bill?"

"Listen," he finally answered, "my daughter wants to talk with you. I think it might be important. I'm not quite sure how she knows, but she seems to be familiar with your work. She says she has some information about a place you'd be ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Author Blurb Deepak Chopra, CEO/Founder, Chopra Center for Well Being and Bestselling author
In his inimitable style of great story telling, James Redfield opens us up to a world of insight, inspiration, synchronicity, and power. Read this book so you can get in touch with the mysteries of great masters.

Author Blurb Larry Dossey, M.D., author of Healing Words
James Redfield has the genius of inspiring people.

Author Blurb Brian Weiss, M.D., author of Only Love Is Real and Many Lives, Many Masters
James Redfield packs thrills, suspense, and spiritual wisdom into his books.

Author Blurb Marianne Williamson, author of Enchanted Love, A Woman's Worth
The best yet from James Redfield...even better than The Celestine Prophecy.

Reader Reviews

Sunita

A very gripping book. It combines simplicity, scientific perspective, suspense and adventure to provide plausible explanations to one's eternal quest. Its immediate application lies in enriching one's individual, team and social life by enhancing ...   Read More

Moe

These books are so cool. In it contains many things that actually opened my mind on many issues. Maybe this world would be a better place if more people read them.....

Nick Ward

By simply reading this book I became open to these theories.It's changed my life from normal to both spiritual and fasinating

patrick

When everything feels like the movies
Yeah you bleed just to know you're alive!

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Secret of Shambhala, try these:

  • The Blue Sky jacket

    The Blue Sky

    by Galsan Tschinag

    Published 2007

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    In the high Altai Mountains of northern Mongolia, the nomadic Tuvan people’s ancient way of life collides with the pervasive influence of modernity as seen through the eyes of a young shepherd boy.

  • Song of the Crow jacket

    Song of the Crow

    by Layne Maheu

    Published 2007

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The story of Noah's Ark and the flood, as narrated by a Crow who is deeply suspicious - and skeptical - about Mankind.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.