Summary and book reviews of Bridget Jones - The Edge of Reason by Helen Fielding

Bridget Jones - The Edge of Reason

by Helen Fielding

Bridget Jones - The Edge of Reason
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2000, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2001, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Bridget Jones, the globally bestselling, unflinchingly self-disciplined, and definitely practically nonsmoking heroine, is about to discover what happens when you have the man of your dreams actually in your flat...

A new year begins - and Bridget Jones, the globally bestselling, unflinchingly self-disciplined, and definitely practically nonsmoking heroine, is about to discover what happens when you have the man of your dreams actually in your flat and he hasn't been to the supermarket - not just tonight, but ever.

Lurching from the cappucino bars of Notting Hill to the blissed-out shores of Thailand, searching for The Truth in spite of pathetically unevolved men, insane dating theories, Smug Married advice ("I'm just calling to say in the potty! In the potty! Well, do it in Daddy's hand, then!"), Bridget experiences a zeitgeist-esque Spiritual Epiphany somewhere between the pages of How to Find the Love You Want Without Seeking It (can self-help books really help self?), protective custody, and a lightly chilled Chardonnay.

Wednesday 5 March
"7:08 p.m. Am assured, receptive, responsive woman of substance. My sense of self comes not from other people but from... from... myself? That can't be right."


With another devastatingly hilarious, ridiculous, unnervingly accurate take on modern womanhood, Bridget Jones is back. (v.g.)

From Chapter 1
Happily Ever After

Monday 27 January

129 lbs. (total fat groove), boyfriends 1 (hurrah!), shags 3 (hurrah!), calories 2,100, calories used up by shags 600, so total calories 1,500 (exemplary).

7.15 a.m. Hurrah! The wilderness years are over. For four weeks and five days now have been in functional relationship with adult male thereby proving am not love pariah as previously feared. Feel marvelous, rather like Jemima Goldsmith or similar radiant newlywed opening cancer hospital in veil while everyone imagines her in bed with Imran Khan. Ooh. Mark Darcy just moved. Maybe he will wake up and talk to me about my opinions.

7.30 a.m. Mark Darcy has not woken up. I know, will get up and make him fantastic fried breakfast with sausages, scrambled eggs and mushrooms or maybe Eggs Benedict or Florentine.

7.31 a.m. Depending what Eggs Benedict or Florentine actually are.

7.32 a.m. Except do not have any mushrooms or sausages.

7.33 a.m. Or eggs.

7.34 a.m....

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Mademoiselle

Bridget Jones is a joy and comfort, and Helen Fielding is bloody great.

Mademoiselle

Bridget Jones is a joy and comfort, and Helen Fielding is bloody great.

San Francisco Chronicle

Watching Fielding manipulate her crazy plot is a little like watching a high-wire artist cross a tightrope on a unicycle with a monkey on each hand. Fielding never falters. In fact, Fielding has created that rare thing a sequel that outshines its predecessor.

Sunday Times (London)

Funnier and more accomplished than the original diary, and in fact takes recognition humor into a new dimension. Bridget Jones The Edge of Reason is a glorious read, and there is a laugh on every page.

Reader Reviews

Katie

I really liked this book. Helen Fielding is a fantastic author. I have read both the Bridget Jones' books and I couldn't put them down.

Laurie

I loved this book! I am a young married woman, (27). I relate to her! I love her! I read many book's. I am one of those people who don't like to watch movies over and over again, or read books more than once, but I have read bridget at least 5 times...   Read More

Beth

Usually sequels are not as good, but this is the exception to the rule! I loved the first Bridget Jones book, but I believe this one was even funnier...Helen Fielding truly captures Bridget's spirit and spins side-splitting tales with this hilarious ...   Read More

James

I have to admit this is a good book and not just for women either I'm a guy. I saw the Original movie "Bridget Jones Diary 1" and fell instantly in love with the movie and charm of the actress who plays Bridget (Renee Zellweger). (Renee ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Bridget Jones - The Edge of Reason, try these:

  • The Rosie Effect jacket

    The Rosie Effect

    by Graeme Simsion

    Published 2015

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel The Rosie Project, starring the same extraordinary couple now living in New York and unexpectedly expecting their first child. Get ready to fall in love all over again.

  • Julie & Julia jacket

    Julie & Julia

    by Julie Powell

    Published 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    With the humor of Bridget Jones and the vitality of Augusten Burroughs, Julie Powell recounts how she conquered every recipe in Julia Child's Mastering the Art of French Cooking and saved her soul!

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.