Summary and book reviews of Carolina Moon by Nora Roberts

Carolina Moon

by Nora Roberts

Carolina Moon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2000, 438 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2001, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Doyenne of the bestseller lists, Roberts may have achieved her personal best in this tense Southern gothic. This is romantic drama at its best.

In Carolina Moon, beloved author Nora Roberts spins her finest, most evocative tale yet, in a novel rich with the secrets and romance of the South. In a starred review, Publishers Weekly notes, "Doyenne of the bestseller lists, Roberts may have achieved her personal best in this tense Southern gothic. This is romantic drama at its best."

Tory Bodeen grew up in a small, rundown house where her father ruled with an iron fist and a leather belt--and where her dreams and talents had no room to flourish. But she had Hope--who lived in the big house, just a short skip away, and whose friendship allowed Tory to be something she wasn't allowed to be at home: a child.

After young Hope's brutal murder, unsolved to this day, Tory's life began to fall apart. And now, as she returns to the tiny town of Progress, South Carolina, with plans to settle in and open a stylish home-design shop, she is determined to find a measure of peace and free herself from the haunting visions of that terrible night. As she forges a new bond with Cade Lavelle--Hope's older brother and the heir to the Lavelle fortune--she isn't sure whether the tragic loss they share will unite them or drive them apart. But she is willing to open her heart, just a little, and try. But living so close to those unhappy memories will be more difficult and frightening than she ever expected. Because the killer of Hope is nearby as well.

Tory

To me, fair friend, you never can be old,
For as you were when first your eye I eyed,
Such seems your beauty still.

-William Shakespeare

Chapter One

She woke in the body of a dead friend. She was eight, tall for her age, fragile of bone, delicate of feature. Her hair was the color of corn silk, and slid prettily down her narrow back. Her mother loved to brush it every night, one hundred strokes with the soft-bristled, silver-backed brush that sat on the graceful cherrywood vanity.

The child's body remembered this, felt this, each long, sustained beat with the brush and how it made her imagine herself a cat being petted. How the light slanted over the pin boxes and the bottles of crystal and cobalt, and struck the silver back of the brush as it flashed over her hair.

She remembered the scent of the room, smelled it even now. Gardenia. Always gardenia for Mama.

And in the mirror, by lamplight, she could see the pale oval of her face, so young, so pretty, ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

The Washington Post

Delightful characters, lively dialogue and good storytelling.

San Francisco Chronicle

Has the elements of a mystery, a comedy and a small town soap opera. In fact, it's all three and more, a book about loss and recovery, grief and resolution, meddling and responsibility.

Publishers Weekly

[Nora Roberst] may have achieved her personal best in this tense Southern gothic.... This is romantic drama at its best.

Reader Reviews

Tori

Great!
The whole idea of the book made me feel like I was watching every little part. There were no physical details like hair color but yet i still seemed to see it crystal clear. I loved the book and was shocked at the results. I am only 13 years old and ...   Read More

Ciara

On the edge of my seat
I started reading this book only the other day and i am just hooked. I have been reading it every moment i get. I am almost finished but i just want to know what happens. This book contains a good mix of romance, trajedy and horror. It offers ...   Read More

Wanda G

This is the first book that I read by Nora Roberts, but not the last. I was hooked after the first page, longing to read what was going to happen next. It was so good I would read on the beach, at the pool, in the car going to eat, and could not go ...   Read More

brown books

First book I read by Nora Roberts and still the best. Romance, horror but aso exceptionally funny. Love how its supporting characters are completely fleshed out. Especially liked the story of Wade and Faith. Made me go out and buy her entire back...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Carolina Moon, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.