Summary and book reviews of The Madd Mountain Murders by Lana Waite

The Madd Mountain Murders

by Lana Waite

The Madd Mountain Murders
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Feb 2004, 246 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

An entertaining mystery, with a barrel of red herrings, a passel of dead bodies, eccentric prospectors & well-heeled land-grabbers.

Maren O'Connor encounters corpses, diamonds & wills at a ski hotel in California's mountains.

When her elderly Uncle Jake pleads for her help in running his tourist lodge in the Tahoe area, Maren O'Connor reluctantly agrees. Little does Maren know, when she encounters a body in her cabin, that this is only the first of several murders, whose solutions uncover painful family secrets.

The Madd Mountain Murders was selected as the semi-finalist in the 2005 Independent Publisher Book Awards.

Chapter 1

The voice on my phone that early Sunday morning was cranky and bossy. Jake wanted me at Tall Trees now, this instant, shake-a-leg! "I need you, Maren, dammit! Don’t argue!" He was almost shouting. "Ella’s giving me fits with her lame leg, Charlie’s disappeared…"

Lame leg? What was wrong with Ella’s leg? And Charlie had disappeared? "Who’s Charlie?" I asked. It was hard keeping up here. I was still bleary-eyed, in pajamas, yawning.

Jake ignored my question. He was good at that. "The police are threatening to dig up the entire cellar. It’s all too much. We’re no spring chickens anymore, you know."

"Dig up the cellar!" That woke me up. "Jake, you have to tell me what’s going on. Why should I just pack up and leave here without some idea of what I’m getting into there?" I began to feel cranky myself. Being single, female, and a relative should not make one available at a moment’s notice.

Jake was my eighty-...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The Madd Mountain Murders is a fun mystery with credible characters, lots of action and a plenty of twists and turns to keep you on your toes. Recommended for anyone who likes to cozy up with a good mystery.  

Media Reviews

RebeccasRead.com - Rebecca Brown

The Madd Mountain Murders is an entertaining evening's mystery, with tons of clues & lots of red herrings. Maren takes some getting used to, yet all has a pleasing flavor, rather like an old-fashioned jigsaw puzzle. Quite satisfying when done.

Midwest Book Review - Shelley Glodowski

Lana Waite has done it again. She uses her considerable experience to develop an Agatha like plot with all sorts of interesting and well drawn characters. Maren is an average and ordinary heroine who is reluctantly pulled out of her habitual love of isolation to help family and friends find a vengeful and terrifying killer. The Madd Mountain Murders is a quick and engrossing read set in mountains that are mystifying and surprising. Waite throws a wonderful hook into the story to pull it all together, and the denouement is one for the silver screen. Waite has also written an entirely new and different mystery from her first, but the theme of hidden treasure lurks in both tales. A wonderful read!

MyShelf.com - Jen Oliver

The descriptions of the areas Maren gets caught into are descriptive enough to paint a perfect picture for the reader. The small rural town atmosphere is once again captured by Ms. Waite in The Madd Mountain Murders and can only work for this type of plot.

Author Blurb Betsy Wachter, Librarian, Sunnyvale, CA
When her elderly Uncle Jake pleads for her help in running his tourist lodge in the Tahoe area, Maren O'Connor reluctantly agrees. Little does Maren know, when she encounters a body in her cabin, that this is only the first of several murders, whose solutions uncover painful family secrets. The discovery of a rough diamond in a hidden compartment of a desk leads Maren to realize that in this instance money is truly the root of all evil. She and her sidekicks must follow the trail of the killer and his hostage into a cave deep in a mountainside, where only Maren's quick thinking saves them from being victims as well. A well-described setting and interesting characters will keep the reader on the edge of his seat until the unexpected conclusion.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Madd Mountain Murders, try these:

  • Wine of Violence jacket

    Wine of Violence

    by Priscilla Royal

    Published 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    'With its intriguing plot, chilling conclusion and characters who exhibit universal and timeless feelings, this fresh first has all the potential to evolve into a series as enduring as Ellis Peters's Brother Cadfael books.'

  • The Cat Who Brought Down The House jacket

    The Cat Who Brought Down The House

    by Lilian Jackson Braun

    Published 2004

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The twenty-fifth volume in this bestselling series, featuring small town reporter Jim Qwilleran and his cats with their uncanny intuition. The inhabitants of Pickax are abuzz with the news that a native of Moose County is retiring from a long Hollywood career to return to her native soil.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.