Summary and book reviews of Lionboy by Zizou Corder

Lionboy

by Zizou Corder

Lionboy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2003, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2004, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

From an exciting new mother/daughter writing team comes the first part of a captivating adventure trilogy full of heroes, villains, and astounding events.

What do you do when you come home one day and discover that your parents have been kidnapped? Well, if you're a brave young guy named Charlie Ashanti, you go off in search of them. And since you happen to know how to speak Cat, your feline friends-the stray cats of the city and the caged lions on a magnificent, astounding floating circus, rally round you, bringing help, advice, and occasional special deliveries. Little do you know that in this search of yours, the fate of the world is at stake.

From an exciting new mother/daughter writing team comes this captivating adventure full of heroes, villains, and astounding events. Set in a near future that blends the familiar and the new in unexpected, intriguing ways, Lionboy is an exhilarating, suspenseful whirlwind of a novel-a book destined to become a classic.



Charlie knew cats well enough to know that you can't take them for granted, ever. And he was downright nervous about the lions. Lions are different. Lions are wild--even if they are trained. Lions are big. Lions are the King of the Jungle, the King of Beasts. And then there was Maccomo, the unnaturally calm lion tamer. Sorry, trainer. He was quite unnerving, too. Charlie could not keep away from the lionchamber, but he approached it with respect and trepidation.

And that is one reason why he was so surprised to find one of the lions--a male, quite young though no longer a cub--just standing on the deck behind the lionchamber, not far from the door, all alone, gazing out to sea with his whiskers down and a strange expression on his face. Surely the lions would be locked up? Surely the trainer wasn't so powerfully calm that he could let his lions wander about the ship?

Without thinking, Charlie came up beside the lion and said, in Cat: "Hello."

The lion turned swiftly...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

School Library Journal - Steven Engelfried

Grade 4-8. Charlie himself is brave and smart, regularly applying his parents' wise advice when in a tough spot, but he never comes alive as a truly distinct or particularly interesting hero.....Still, it's a fascinating premise, and sets up some surprising and exciting situations.... Despite weaknesses, there's some inventive storytelling here, and readers who stick with it will look forward to the sequel.

VOYA - David Goodale

Despite flaws in characterization, this novel will also be a hit with lovers of Eoin Colfer and Philip Pullman. This series is recommended for school and public libraries, where patrons will also want to keep an eye out for the movie. Ages 11 to 15.

KLIATT - Paula Rohrlick

The saga is imaginative and engaging, and the elaborate details of the circus will appeal to upper elementary and middle school students. Ages 12 to 15.

The Washington Post Book World For Young Readers - Elizabeth Ward

Lionboy is a zinger or a story, told with a J.K. Rowling-like blend of humor, drama and headlong plotting – overplotting, sometimes – though worlds removed from Hogwarts..... a delicious midwinter promise of adventures to come.

Publishers Weekly

This first volume (by a mother-daughter team writing under one name) in a planned trilogy melds a rousing traveling circus adventure with shades of cautionary science fiction.

Booklist - Jennifer Mattson

... a 22-page description of a circus performance may test children's attention spans, and Charlie's levelheaded strategizing sometimes strains credibility. Still, such flaws will hardly matter once readers are caught up in the suspenseful action and the pleasures of visiting a plausible, if troubling, version of our future.

Kirkus Reviews

This inventive cat-and-mouse game combines hi-jinks with messages of mixed marriages, greedy pharmaceutical conglomerates, and environmentally caused allergies. The lion-face cover and clever cat device set the pace and impel the plot. Intriguing. (Fiction. 9-12)

Reader Reviews

Lucy Smith

Wow.
This is the best trilogy Ii have read in my whole life. The story kind of sucks you in and you never want it to end. The book took me quite a while to read though but that's what makes it so good as it lasts long. I never ever wanted it to end and ...   Read More

ipodgirl437

My Review on LionBoy!!
LionBoy is very suspenseful in a way. You don't know what's going to happen next. This book also has many emotions in it like sadness. When Charlie finds out his parents have been kidnapped all he can think about is how sad he is. There is also ...   Read More

Debrina

Highly recommended
We found this book on CD at our local library, and fell in love with it! My kids (4 and 5 1/2) and I turn it on every time we get in the car, and are now on book three of the trilogy. We have loved every adventure of Charlie and his lions! I ...   Read More

Natalie

A most excellent book
It is very intresting, and when at the back of the page I saw the "to be continued"..., I was actually quite angry. I am looking forward to the next book very much. THANK YOU LOIUSA FOR WRITING THIS FABULOUS BOOK!!!! I highly recommend it.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Lionboy, try these:

  • Seeker jacket

    Seeker

    by William Nicholson

    Published 2007

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    A coming-of-age story about courage, friendship, desire, and faith.

  • Corby Flood jacket

    Corby Flood

    by Chris Riddell, Paul Stewart

    Published 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Corby Flood has noticed something is wrong on their cruise ship, the S.S. Euphonia. Among the odd passengers and eccentric crew, there is a strange group of men in bowler-hats who call themselves The Brotherhood of Clowns. There's also a melancholy wailing sound coming from the hold....

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.