Summary and book reviews of Something More by Sarah Ban Breathnach

Something More

Excavating Your Authentic Self

by Sarah Ban Breathnach

Something More
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 1998, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2000, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Dare to begin the journey. Within these pages lie powerful truths that can change your life...and inspire you to settle for nothing less than Something More.

You may have a beautiful home, a family you adore, and work that you enjoy. But why do you secretly sense that you need something more to be truly happy?

Because it's true.

The wisdom, warmth, compassion, and disarming candor of Simple Abundance has made Sarah Ban Breathnach's a trusted voice to millions of women. Now Sarah invites you on a bold, brave, and beautiful continuation of the journey to authenticity, the search for...Something More

In this eloquent and evocative book, Sarah Ban Breathnach encourages you to become an archaeologist of your Self: to plumb your past with its unfulfilled longings, forgotten pleasures, and abandoned dreams, to "excavate" the authentic woman buried inside.

Uncovering your authentic self will be challenging-but exhilarating. Assisting your personal "dig" will be hints and prompts from the lives of both celebrated and unknown women. These, in tandem with Sarah's own insights, will help you unravel your own mystery and recover the joy that has been missing from your life. Along the way, you will experience small but exquisite epiphanies that will help you come to terms with your past choices and reveal exciting new opportunities that lead to your destiny.

Dare to begin the journey. Within these pages lie powerful truths that can change your life...and inspire you to settle for nothing less than Something More.

A Continuous Thread of Revelation
Things come suitable to their time.
ENID BANGOLD

Did you ever see the film National Velvet? Based on the heartwarming book written by Enid Bangoid, the film starred a teenage Elizabeth Taylor in her first leading role as Velvet Brown, a young English girl determined to transform an ordinary horse she'd won in a raffle into a racehorse. Every time she rides him, she sees herself trotting triumphantly into the winner's circle of the world's greatest steeplechase, the Grand National. Velvet believes that she and "The Pie" share a special destiny - that underneath his plain horsehide exterior beats the heart of a champion. But Velvet has a few obstacles in her path: she's fourteen, her parents think her dream is nonsense, and The Pie is actually unruly and untrained. Even if there were a trainer in the small English country village where she lives, there's no money for one, or for the race entrance fee or to hire a jockey, since girls are not permit ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
After writing Simple Abundance, Sarah Ban Breathnach received countless letters from readers and found a certain recurring theme throughout. Readers explained that their lives had improved markedly after embarking on the Simple Abundance path, yet they still felt a small twinge of . . . something, something indescribable. Sarah Ban Breathnach knew exactly what they meant, for in spite of a successful writing career, a beautiful and loving daughter, and contentment with the material things in her life, Sarah too felt there had to be "something more" to truly enjoying life, so she set out to investigate that elusive "something more." The result of that search was Something More. This reading group guide, coupled with Something More itself, ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Library Journal

This practical book of inspiration for women who habitually place others' needs before their own is sure to be a popular addition to most public libraries.

Publishers Weekly

Passion is truth's soul mate, writes Ban Breathnach in this follow-up to her stupendously successful Simple Abundance (1995). The author who helped millions discover the overlooked richness of everyday life by practicing gratitude now appends that message by urging us to heed our yearning for something more....Written not as a guru but as a friend who has learned to cherish her past, Ban Breathnach will galvanize her wide readership to believe we were all put on earth for something more than indifferent marriages and discarded dreams. Serving up self-worth and repose of the soul as the most priceless of attainments , she is a friend indeed.

Reader Reviews

Anonymous
T Prince
I have begun the search for my authentic self. The love of my life bought Simple Abundance, Ban Breathnach's previous masterpiece, for me so that I might find my true voice in this life. I never imagined what an impact these two books would ...   Read More

Anonymous
Rosalia Estrada
Something More is a terrific book. It helped me get over my depression. Each time I pick up the book I would realize that there is something more than meets the eye. I recommend this book to anyone that would like to discover the ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Something More, try these:

  • SHAM jacket

    SHAM

    by Steve Salerno

    Published 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    SHAM shows how thinly credentialed "experts" now dispense advice on everything from mental health to relationships to diet to personal finance to business strategy. Americans spend upward of $8 billion every year on self-help programs and products. And those staggering financial costs are actually the least of our worries.

  • Self Matters jacket

    Self Matters

    by Dr Phillip McGraw

    Published 2003

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Dr. Phil challenges you to find your "authentic self" -- that person you once were before life took its toll.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.