Summary and book reviews of Live Now, Age Later by Isadore Rosenfeld M.D.

Live Now, Age Later

Proven Ways To Slow Down The Clock

by Isadore Rosenfeld M.D.

Live Now, Age Later
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 1999, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2000, 457 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Whether you're in your thirties, forties, fifties, sixties, or seventies, you can take control of your aging and, with the help of this book, LIVE NOW, AGE LATER.

John Glenn shoots his way back into space; President Bush goes skydiving. Both men are in their seventies. Sophia Loren, Sean Connery, and Robert Redford, all in their sixties, are still sex symbols. Although no one can stop the march of time, we can do something about its consequences. Now Isadore Rosenfeld, M.D. - professor of medicine, practicing physician, researcher, and the author of six bestselling health books - shows all of us how to ... LIVE NOW, AGE LATER. This is the book that lays it on the line-the hard facts as well as the good news. Dr. Rosenfeld explains how aging is not a single process, but the result of many changes in every system and organ of the body. From your appearance to your energy level, from arthritis to cancer and stroke, from osteoporosis and heart disease to hearing loss and vision problems, Dr. Rosenfeld tells you exactly how to delay, prevent, and treat the signs of aging. Simply and clearly written in layman's language, LIVE NOW, AGE LATER teaches you how to take advantage of medical breakthroughs - from Viagra to the latest estrogen substitutes - that can improve your quality of life.

Discover how to: preserve your eyesight and help avoid cataracts, macular degeneration, and glaucoma with proper diet - and even some wine maintain a healthy sex drive and the ability to satisfy it - with the right hormones and the latest medications preempt Alzheimer's disease and senility with the appropriate vitamins and, believe it or not, painkillers slow down hardening and blockage of the arteries with the proper lifestyle and proven drugs keep your skin young and your prostate small with conventional and not-so-conventional approaches.

Whether you're in your thirties, forties, fifties, sixties, or seventies, you can take control of your aging and, with the help of this book, LIVE NOW, AGE LATER.

ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE

Remembering!


Any discussion of aging with someone older than fifty invariably makes them anxious about eventually losing their "marbles." Most of the other devastating ailments of mankind---cancer, heart trouble, stroke, even AIDS---don't usually produce the kind of terror associated with Alzheimer's disease. Cancer is certainly something to worry about, but it can often be detected early enough to be cured; its symptoms can be controlled, and patients may survive for months or even years. Everyone knows someone who has "conquered" a malignancy or coped with it for a long time. Stroke is also viewed with more equanimity these days; it can be prevented by effective treatment of high blood pressure; the likelihood of it causing permanent paralysis is not nearly as great as it used to be, thanks to sophisticated new medications and physical rehabilitation techniques. Proper diet, cholesterol-lowering drugs, and aspirin can prevent or delay heart ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly

The genial Dr. Rosenfeld (Symptoms and Doctor, What Should I Eat?) should have another bestseller to his credit with this wise, sensible guide to delaying and preventing the diseases of aging.....What distinguishes this book from others aimed at the turning-50 crowd is Rosenfeld's ease in making medicine understandable, without oversimplifying or condescending, and his lively optimism. The occasional pun may inspire groans, but given the book's strengths, they are forgivable. Thanks to the doctor's gift for establishing a relationship with his reader, this book deserves to be read widely and thoroughly.

Author Blurb Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., President, Morehouse School of Medicine, and former U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services
An excellent, comprehensive, very readable book for all who are interested in promoting their health and preventing disease ... I recommend this book with enthusiasm.

Author Blurb Hugh Downs, correspondent, ABC's 20/20
Most welcome--the premise of Live Now, Age Later, that risks can be modified and that despair is in no case necessary or unavoidable, should get to every person concerned about getting older ... Many people are in need of Dr. Rosenfeld's counsel.

Author Blurb Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., Distinguished Service Professor and Olga Keith Wiess Professor of Surgery, Baylor College of Medicine
A comprehensive, medically factual work that is highly readable, sprinkled with humor, and of great value to our aging population.

Author Blurb Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., President, Morehouse School of Medicine, and former U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services
An excellent, comprehensive, very readable book for all who are interested in promoting their health and preventing disease ... I recommend this book with enthusiasm.

Author Blurb Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., Distinguished Service Professor and Olga Keith Wiess Professor of Surgery, Baylor College of Medicine
A comprehensive, medically factual work that is highly readable, sprinkled with humor, and of great value to our aging population.

Reader Reviews

Anonymous
I just want to know how old Dr Rosenfeld is

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Live Now, Age Later, try these:

  • The Wrinkle Cure jacket

    The Wrinkle Cure

    by Dr Perricone

    Published 2001

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    This all-natural antioxidant plan revitalizes your skin from the outside and inside, reducing and effectively erasing wrinkles and blemishes, no matter your skin color or type, no matter your age.

  • Real Age jacket

    Real Age

    by Michael F. Roizen M.D.

    Published 1999

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Offers a revolutionary program that calculates the aging effect of different health behaviors ranging from diet and medication to stress control and chronic smoking, and enables you to assess your own biological age.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.