Reading guide for Big City Eyes by Delia Ephron

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Big City Eyes

A Novel

by Delia Ephron

Big City Eyes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2000, 227 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2001, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. How do Lily's "big city eyes" deceive her when she first arrives in Sakonnet Bay? How does her opinion of this sleepy village change over the course of the novel?
  2. What do you think Lily's life was like in Manhattan? Do you think Sam is the only one who needs saving?
  3. Lily finds the natural world around her threatening. Can you relate with her concerns and anxieties? What is your opinion of the vast night sky?
  4. Lily is tortured by the fear that her son is a freak and she is to blame. How much responsibility do parents bear for their children's behavior? Where and how do you draw the line?
  5. Lily tells Tom that she and Sam matter too much to each other. Do you think this is an accurate assessment?
  6. Throughout the novel, Lily struggles over how to protect her son while still giving him space to grow. Do you think she manages to find some balance? For parents, when is it time to intervene?
  7. Lily's life illustrates how difficult it can be to juggle single parenthood and romance. How does a woman (or man) balance the responsibilities of parenthood with her (or his) own emotional and sexual needs?
  8. What is your opinion of how Lily handles the issue of Sam's sex life? What would your approach be?
  9. Lily suffers from great guilt over the effect of her divorce on her son. Do you agree with her opinions regarding the impact of divorce on children?
  10. How do you think Sam would respond to his mother's opinion that his parents' divorce broke his heart?
  11. Do you think Lily gives us an accurate portrait of her ex-husband Allan? How do you think he would describe her?
  12. Discuss the importance of an intact family versus the needs of individual members. How do you keep these in balance?
  13. What effect does falling in love with others have on Lily and Sam's relationship?
  14. What do you think of the character of Tom McKee? What do you think motivates him?
  15. Discuss the motives behind the infidelity in this novel.
  16. Did your opinion of Sam, trapped in the throes of teenage angst, change over the course of the novel?
  17. Did you enjoy Lily's columns? Did you have a favorite among them?
  18. Were you surprised by the identity of the murderer?
  19. Besides Lily, which characters were your favorites and why?
  20. One reviewer has remarked, "By presenting a wider set of obstacles and a detective who needs to find out more than just 'who done it,' Ephron's Big City Eyes lets the reader share a triumph wider than simply catching a killer." Do you agree? Do you find the mix of genres satisfying?
  21. Do you think Lily made the right decision in the end? What would you do in her shoes?
  22. How does your group decide what to read? Why did the group choose this book?
  23. How does this novel compare with other works the group has read?
  24. What is the group reading next?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Ballantine Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.