Reading guide for Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Fowler

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

by Therese Fowler

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2013, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2014, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Why do you think Zelda refused to marry Scott until he'd made a name for himself? Was she manipulating him?

  2. Zelda didn't seem to care how her parents felt about her unstable relationship with Scott and how it might ruin her reputation. Did they have a valid point, considering the time period?

  3. What do you think was behind Scott's alcoholism? Was it due to his rocky relationship with Zelda or did he drink to fit in with the crowd?

  4. How do you feel about Scott selling Zelda's short stories under both their names? Why wouldn't he let Zelda publish under her own name?

  5. Which of Zelda's talents were her strongest? Which would you most like to possess?

  6. Why did Scott insist on hiring strict nannies to care for Scottie? What did this say about the kind of father he was?

  7. Considering the time period, do you think Zelda's mental condition was handled as well as it could have been? How might it be handled differently today?

  8. What did Scott's treatment of Zelda, while she was in the hospital, show you about his character? Did it make him any more sympathetic to you?

  9. Why does Zelda seem to let Scott have affairs without trying to stop him? What would you have done in her place?

  10. Zelda believed Ernest Hemingway was the reason she and Scott made a mess of their lives. Why do you think she thought this? Was she correct?

  11. Why did Hemingway write so spitefully about Zelda and Scott after their deaths? Did this surprise you?

  12. Why do you think Scott cared so much about his reputation as a serious writer? Do you consider him an important American writer?

  13. What impact did Zelda's relationship with her friends have on her? Do you believe her friends were good influences?

  14. How might the Fitzgeralds' public and private lives been different if they'd lived today? Would the media care as much about them?

  15. Scott turns Zelda's affair with Jozan into a work of fiction. What did this make you think about him? How would you have reacted if you were Zelda?

Created by BookBrowse, 2013

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of St. Martin's Griffin. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  American Expat Writers in Paris

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.