Reading guide for Consider the Fork by Bee Wilson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Consider the Fork

A History of How We Cook and Eat

by Bee Wilson

Consider the Fork
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2012, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2013, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Bee Wilson covers a wide range of culinary tools in Consider the Fork, but obviously she could not include everything. Are there any tools that you wish had been included in this book, but weren't? More generally, what tools continue to be underappreciated or underused—and do these share any characteristics with the ones that Wilson does discuss in the book?
  2. Put together a list of must-have kitchen tools. Where do you draw the line between essential utilities that no cook can operate without, and frivolous accessories that just clutter up the kitchen?
  3. In the chapter "Grind," Wilson writes that the Cuisinart "trans - form[ed] cooking from pain to pleasure"—and yet she confesses to still using "obsolete" or needlessly labor-intensive technologies, such as when she grinds basil and garlic with a mortar and pestle to make pesto. Do you ever choose to make food in an old-fashioned way, even when more advanced tools are available? If so, why?
  4. Is your appreciation for food diminished when it's prepared quickly and relatively effortlessly? Would you enjoy butter more if you knew that hours of human labor went into it, or would meringues be more delectable if you knew that multiple people had tired themselves out to stiffen the egg whites? Is speed and convenience a luxury when it comes to cooking and eating, or is "slow food" more of a pleasure?
  5. Can you think of utensils that were once widely used, but which have since disappeared from most kitchens? Did any of these items work better than the ones that replaced them, in your opinion?
  6. Even after the development of indoor gas ranges, cooks clung to the time-tried method of hearth cooking despite its many dangers. Are there any technologies that people continue to use today, despite the obvious risks associated with them?
  7. One of Wilson's arguments is that culinary technologies have shaped the human body, in ways that we often don't think of; the alignment of our teeth, for instance, is intimately connected to our use of knives. Are there other kitchen tools that have had an impact on our bodies? On our minds?
  8. The tools that we use to present and consume food can be every bit as central to our experience of eating as the food itself: few people would choose to eat sushi with a fork, say, or to drink expensive wine out of a paper cup. Think of your favorite food: does it have a specific utensil associated with it? If so, what does that utensil say about you—either the personal culinary traditions you have inherited, or those that you have chosen for yourself?
  9. Wilson's book ends with a look at molecular gastronomy, and the scientific tools and techniques of "modernist" chefs around the world. Is modernist cooking a passing trend, or are some of the tools it has generated—the sous-vide machine, for instance—here to stay?
  10. "The 'kitchen of tomorrow,'" Wilson writes, "was a staple of twentieth-century life." What does the "kitchen of tomorrow" look like, at the dawn of the third millennium? Are there certain tools, techniques, or kitchen design elements that will never go out of style, no matter how many years go by?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Basic Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Back to the Future in the Kitchen

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.