Reading guide for Big Girl Small by Rachel DeWoskin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Big Girl Small

A Novel

by Rachel DeWoskin

Big Girl Small by Rachel DeWoskin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2011, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2012, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Discuss Judy's attitude about life as an LP? Did her attitude surprise you? Have you ever personally known an LP?


  2. Judy comes to the conclusion that "suffering isn't relative." What does this mean to you, and do you agree?


  3. Is Judy a reliable narrator? In what ways might her perception of reality be slightly distorted? What do you make of her assessment of Kyle, before and after his actions are revealed?


  4. Judy faces many adolescent hardships throughout the novel, but also the thrill of many "firsts". Is Judy perhaps afraid to grow up? What do you make of Sarah's assertion that the brain becomes less "exuberant" in adulthood?


  5. When Judy hears that Ginger may have spread a nasty rumor, she muses: "Can you really define a whole person by one cruel thing she does?" What do you think?


  6. Ginger is an enigmatic character, she defies categorization. Why do you think Sarah and Judy's mother dislike her? How do you feel about her, did she ultimately surprising you?


  7. Does Judy's musical talent draw attention away from her physical stature? Along those lines, why is there such a difference between feeling different and feeling special?


  8. Sarah is incredibly loyal to Judy, even though Judy does not always appreciate it. Have you ever had a friend like that, or ever been a friend like that to someone?


  9. Judy never discovers who initiated the scandalous videotaping, nor who was responsible for leaking it. Would you want to know if you were in the same situation? Would you have prosecuted?


  10. How do you think Judy's family handled the scandal and its fall-out? Which part of it do you think was the most difficult for them?


  11. How do lessons from Ms. Doman's English class help Judy to cope with her experience?


  12. What makes Bill such an ideal friend for Judy at the motel?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Picador. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Achondroplasia

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.