Reading guide for The Queen of Water by Laura Resau, Maria Virginia Farinango

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Queen of Water

A novel based on a true story

by Laura Resau, Maria Virginia Farinango

The Queen of Water
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2011, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2012, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Staring at the scars on her legs made by her drunken father, Virginia wonders if words can make scars on her heart. (p. 32) What words would have made scars on Virginia's heart? How can her scars be healed?

  2. The Doctorita verbally and physically abuses Virginia. Why does Virginia continue to stay with her when she has an opportunity to run away from her? How does the Doctorita convince Virginia that she can't leave?

  3. To improve her self-image and attain her dreams, Virginia stops eating and begins to exercise constantly. Why does she think that being thin will change her life? What does Jose tell her to make her start eating again? (p. 139) Why does Virginia choose to believe him?

  4. Why do the Doctorita and Carlos refuse to allow Virginia to have a boyfriend? How does Virginia defy them? What happens as a result of her defiance?

  5. Watching the TV show "The Slave Isaura" causes Virginia to consider she might be a slave, but she notices that the Doctorita does not see herself as an evil master. Is Virginia a slave? Why or why not?

  6. Virginia becomes afraid when Carlos begins to sexually harass her. How does Virginia deal with Carlos's unwanted advances? Why does he eventually stop?

  7. When Virginia leaves the Doctorita and returns home, why is she so uncomfortable? What decisions does she make as a result of her inability to feel at home with her family? Why does she feel such shame about being an indígena? What do Virginia's choices say about her character?

  8. Ultimately, Virginia's life transforms as she becomes a confident, successful young woman. How does her childhood help her become the Queen of Water? What life lessons does she learn as a result of her time spent with the Doctorita? How does she resolve the conflict between life in the two cultures?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Ember. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.