Reading guide for Townie by Andre Dubus III

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Townie

A Memoir

by Andre Dubus III

Townie
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2011, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2012, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Julie Wan

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Although the chronology of Dubus's memoir spans his life from young childhood until 1999, Townie opens with a vignette from his adolescence, in which he goes long-distance running with his father. Why does Dubus begin his story with this particular event? What do we learn from this scene alone about Dubus's life?


  2. Although Andre's father was a writer known for the insight and empathy expressed in his fiction, he seems clueless about his children's day-to-day suffering. His mother is also largely unaware. Why?


  3. Why does the young Dubus "like" what he sees in the school fight he witnessed at the age of twelve: "I liked seeing the blood spattering across his nose and mouth and chin, and I especially liked how tightly his eyes were shut against the fear, and the pain."


  4. Celebrated fellow writer Richard Russo describes Townie as a "meditation on violence." In what way is that so? What did you find most impressive or moving about Dubus's descriptions of violence in the book? What are its "terrifying pleasures"?


  5. Dubus often expresses his recollections tentatively, using language like "probably" and "maybe." What does this reflect about Dubus's relationship with his own memories? How does this influence your own attitude toward the book and the author?


  6. Andre and his siblings escape their bleak home lives in different ways: Suzanne with men, Jeb with music and art, Andre with weight training and fighting, and Nicole by locking herself away in her bedroom. Were there other coping strategies they could have used? Why were these the ones they each chose?


  7. Dubus writes in great detail about numerous carpentry and construction projects - from building a tree house with Jeb as children to their work with a housing contractor as adults. What role does the act of construction play in each of the stages in Dubus's life? How might it suggest a response to his parents' way of being in the world?


  8. Between inertia and throwing the first punch, Dubus writes, "You have to move through two barriers... one inside you and one around him, as if everyone's body is surrounded by an invisible membrane you have to puncture to get to them." What about puncturing the "membrane" appeals to Dubus? What causes him to seek it out over the years?


  9. How would you describe Andre's father's interest in his son's strength and potential for violence? What is that about?


  10. What does the book say about the origins of violence? About its consequences? Its possible cures?


  11. What is the role of privilege in the book and in the lives of the Dubus family? What does the book say about the relationship between the haves and the have-nots in society as a whole?


  12. What are the different ways of "being a man" explored in Townie? How did Andre, his father, and his grandfather each answer the question of what it means to be a man? How did both Andre and his father revise their definitions over time?


  13. What separates Andre and his father and what brings them together? How do various people in the book manage to reconcile with one another? What role do sports - running, boxing, and baseball, specifically - play in Townie?


  14. When Andre's father's legs are crushed in an automobile accident, Andre teaches him about bodybuilding and shadowboxing in an effort to help him recover his strength. In what ways does the accident change their relationship?


  15. Why, given their past, do Andre and his brothers and sisters all rally around their father after his accident? What holds this family together?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of W.W. Norton & Company. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Andre Dubus

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.