Reading guide for Tall Story by Candy Gourlay

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tall Story

by Candy Gourlay

Tall Story
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2011, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2012, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Tall Story alternates between the voices of Bernardo, who lives in the Philippines, and his half sister, Andi, who has only ever lived in England. How is Andi's voice different from Bernardo's?


  2. It is clear from the beginning that both characters have very strong desires. What does Andi really, really want? What does Bernardo really really want? How does the story show what they want?


  3. Though they are brother and sister, Bernardo and Andi have grown up in two very different cultures. Culture refers to taste, style, manner and beliefs. Discuss some of the cultural differences between Bernardo and Andi.


  4. Bernardo is desperate to be with his family in London. What is holding him back? Andi is desperate to play basketball. What stands in her way? Contrast the way Andi and Bernardo respond to the obstacles that get in the way of what they want.


  5. Though he has a loving home with his Aunt and Uncle, Bernardo has been separated from his mother and sister for 16 years. When she gets to know Bernardo better, Andi says: "The truth is, even though I didn't know him, I have missed him just as much as he missed me." What does she mean?


  6. Filipino legends are woven into Bernardo's story - how do the legends explain the origin of giants? Why do the people of San Andres want to stop Bernardo from going to London?


  7. There are magical elements in Tall Story - Bernardo's wishes come true and so do Andi's. But the book doesn't tell us if it is because of magic or not. Do you think it was magic? Why or why not?


  8. On the inside flap of Tall Story's cover, the blurb says: "What you want is not always what you get, even when your wishes come true." What does that mean? How does the story demonstrate this?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Yearling. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Who is Candy Gourlay?

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.