Reading guide for Half a Life by Darin Strauss

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Half a Life

by Darin Strauss

Half a Life by Darin Strauss X
Half a Life by Darin Strauss
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2010, 204 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2011, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Strauss has a number of scenes (him chatting up girls at the accident site; going to the movies later) that paint him in an unfavorable color. Do you think this makes him less likeable, or more so. How effective is he in drawing your sympathy. Do you think he wants to?
  2. It took Strauss half a life to write this book. How do you think it would have differed if he'd tried to write it at the time? How would it be different if he were to have waited another 18 years?
  3. Strauss writes that he thought of college as a "witness protection program" – he went off to school and told basically no one about the accident. Do you think this time was necessary for him to heal, or would he have benefitted from talking about it to a lot of people, right away?
  4. As serious a book as this is, there are moments of humor. Strauss pokes gentle fun at "the Shrink" – a psychologist he saw soon after the crash – and at the "On Death and Dying" class he took in college. What purpose do these incidents play in this often somber book?
  5. To what degree do you think Strauss's memories were shaped by his age? How reliable is memory after almost two decades?
  6. A number of reviewers wrote that, if anything, Strauss was too hard on himself in this memoir. He was found blameless, yet spent years feeling terrible about it. Is that a necessary moral stance, or could he have let himself off the hook a little more?
  7. The Washington Post wrote that Half a Life has a universal appeal, calling it a "penetrating, thought-provoking examination of the human mind." Do you think it has a message for people beyond the narrow, car-cash one? If so, what is it?
  8. Strauss's parents are quite present in the early part of the book; less so as the story progresses. Is this merely a function of the narrator growing older? How would you act differently if it'd been your child driving that fateful car on that fateful day?
  9. The accident resulted in a lawsuit. Do you think there is some peace-of-mind to be gained in litigation? Is it a way to allow ourselves to try feeling better about something awful?
  10. Define the relationship between Strauss and his wife, Susannah. How does she differ from the people he'd told about the crash before her?
  11. Consider Strauss's choice of a career. He writes that, if not for the accident, he may not have become a writer. Does this seem true? Can we be shaped positively by terrible events? If so, how do we ensure that we are?
  12. Strauss writes: "There are different brands of ignorance, the static of perplexity, the spun silk of denial." What does this mean?
  13. Strauss writes that there was no real epiphanic moment for him, no instant he can point to and say: That was when I began to feel better. And yet he seems to have learned a lesson from this event, and by the end of the book is a changed man. What did he learn?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Random House. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.