Reading guide for Sacred Games by Vikram Chandra

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sacred Games

A Novel

by Vikram Chandra

Sacred Games by Vikram Chandra X
Sacred Games by Vikram Chandra
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2007, 928 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2008, 928 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Manu Tewari, the screenwriter, tells Gaitonde that "a thriller has to start with the danger, tell the audience what they’re supposed to be scared of, what is at stake, and then it should race to the finish." Does Sacred Games obey these essential rules of the thriller? If it’s not a thriller, what is it?

     
  2. The French translator for Sacred Games, Johan-Frédérik Hel Geudj, noted that doublings and mirroring proliferate in the book – there is the pairing of the Sartag and Gaitonde (connected, of course, through the sisters Mary and Jojo), but then they each have two father-figures, and they each betray one of these father figures. What other doubles can you find in the book?

     
  3. Based upon the above question, symmetry seems to be a theme in the book. Why are these symmetries in the book? Is there a pattern? Does the pattern mean anything? Is the book finally symmetrical?


  4. What effect do the "Insets" have on the reader?

     
  5. The traditional form of the griller or the detective story sets up a closed narrative world in which there is a comprehensible solution to every mystery. By the end of this kind of story, the detective knows everything that can be known, and the chain of causality which leads to the crime (or the bomb) has been completely determined and fixed. What are the chains of causality in Sacred Games? Do the characters know and understand anything, even at the end?

     
  6. "Bollywood" is a term informally applied to a genre of film that are colorful, melodramatic, and contain elements including star-crossed lovers, family ties, sacrifice, corrupt politicians, and conniving villains. Though Sacred Games is not a novelistic approach to Bollywood – it incorporates many of those elements. Which "Bollywood" elements does Sacred Games incorporate? To what effect?


     
  7. Sacred Games is daunting in size and scope. Do you feel that the novel is too large for all of the characters, story-lines, and themes? Perhaps it is not large enough? How did the size of the novel and large cast of characters affect your reading experience?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Harper Perennial. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.