Reading guide for London Calling by Edward Bloor

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

London Calling

by Edward Bloor

London Calling by Edward Bloor
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2006, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2008, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Martin freezes after he is slapped in the face by Lowery, but he hates himself for his cowardly reaction. (p. 13) Why does he react the way he does? What would be a more appropriate reaction? Does the punishment he receives fit the crime? Why or why not?

  2. After Martin and his mother meet with Father Thomas about the fight, Martin’ mother tells him, “ow you will live in the future depends on how you live now in the present.”(p. 27) What decisions does Martin make in the present that will affect his future? How will his decisions positively impact his life?

  3. Martin’ sister and friends show concern for Martin’ emotional well-being, fearing he is suffering from depression; even Martin, who says his days are empty and pointless, thinks he needs to do something other than stay in the basement. What other symptoms does Martin exhibit that show he might be depressed? What does his sister do to try to help him get out more? What role do his friends play? How does Martin finally overcome his feelings of depression?

  4. Due to the power and reputation of the Lowery family, Hank breaks the rules with few consequences, and his family seems to expect special favors because of their status. How does their pride and arrogance affect the other boys at All Souls Preparatory School? Do the families of the other boys have any influence on Hank’ behavior?

  5. After Martin meets Jimmy and visits him in the past, he asks Margaret, “ho decides what ‘he real history of a time’is?”Margaret responds, “he winners decide.”(p. 119) How does this hold true for Martin when he sets the record straight about General Hank Lowery’ war record and his own grandfather’ role in the war?

  6. After Martin receives the Philco 20 Deluxe Radio, he begins to have strange dreams, so the first time he meets Jimmy, he is sure it is a dream. What does Martin do that convinces him that he is traveling back in time? How does this experience affect him? What finally helps him make the decision to help Jimmy, even though it is dangerous?

  7. The painting of Abraham and Isaac seems to show up wherever Martin goes - in his present at All Souls, in his past in Jimmy’ book, and in his future when he goes to London to meet Jimmy’ dad, Mr. Harker. How does this painting symbolize the father-son relationships in the book? What clues does this painting give about the outcome of the story?

  8. When Martin travels back in time, he becomes braver and more courageous. He says, “ agreed to follow this strange boy into those bombed out streets, for a purpose even he did not understand.”(p. 134) Why did Martin agree to put his life in danger for an unknown mission? Even though Jimmy and Martin live in different times, what do they have in common?

  9. Martin’ own grandfather was also considered a war hero. What does he learn about him that alters the course of history? How does what he learns change his family’ present and future? What impact does the information have on Martin’ relationship with his father?

  10. On page 227, Martin asks his father, “hat do you think makes one man a disgrace, and another one a hero?”How would Martin answer that question after his experiences in London with Mr. Harker? How does Martin’ discovery about his grandfather make a difference in his relationship with his father?

  11. When Martin’ father dies, Martin is assured that he can answer the question: “hat did you do to help?” p. 299) How would Martin’ father have answered the question? How would other characters answer the question?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Knopf Children's Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.