Reading guide for London Calling by Edward Bloor

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

London Calling

by Edward Bloor

London Calling
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2006, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2008, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Martin freezes after he is slapped in the face by Lowery, but he hates himself for his cowardly reaction. (p. 13) Why does he react the way he does? What would be a more appropriate reaction? Does the punishment he receives fit the crime? Why or why not?

  2. After Martin and his mother meet with Father Thomas about the fight, Martin’ mother tells him, “ow you will live in the future depends on how you live now in the present.”(p. 27) What decisions does Martin make in the present that will affect his future? How will his decisions positively impact his life?

  3. Martin’ sister and friends show concern for Martin’ emotional well-being, fearing he is suffering from depression; even Martin, who says his days are empty and pointless, thinks he needs to do something other than stay in the basement. What other symptoms does Martin exhibit that show he might be depressed? What does his sister do to try to help him get out more? What role do his friends play? How does Martin finally overcome his feelings of depression?

  4. Due to the power and reputation of the Lowery family, Hank breaks the rules with few consequences, and his family seems to expect special favors because of their status. How does their pride and arrogance affect the other boys at All Souls Preparatory School? Do the families of the other boys have any influence on Hank’ behavior?

  5. After Martin meets Jimmy and visits him in the past, he asks Margaret, “ho decides what ‘he real history of a time’is?”Margaret responds, “he winners decide.”(p. 119) How does this hold true for Martin when he sets the record straight about General Hank Lowery’ war record and his own grandfather’ role in the war?

  6. After Martin receives the Philco 20 Deluxe Radio, he begins to have strange dreams, so the first time he meets Jimmy, he is sure it is a dream. What does Martin do that convinces him that he is traveling back in time? How does this experience affect him? What finally helps him make the decision to help Jimmy, even though it is dangerous?

  7. The painting of Abraham and Isaac seems to show up wherever Martin goes - in his present at All Souls, in his past in Jimmy’ book, and in his future when he goes to London to meet Jimmy’ dad, Mr. Harker. How does this painting symbolize the father-son relationships in the book? What clues does this painting give about the outcome of the story?

  8. When Martin travels back in time, he becomes braver and more courageous. He says, “ agreed to follow this strange boy into those bombed out streets, for a purpose even he did not understand.”(p. 134) Why did Martin agree to put his life in danger for an unknown mission? Even though Jimmy and Martin live in different times, what do they have in common?

  9. Martin’ own grandfather was also considered a war hero. What does he learn about him that alters the course of history? How does what he learns change his family’ present and future? What impact does the information have on Martin’ relationship with his father?

  10. On page 227, Martin asks his father, “hat do you think makes one man a disgrace, and another one a hero?”How would Martin answer that question after his experiences in London with Mr. Harker? How does Martin’ discovery about his grandfather make a difference in his relationship with his father?

  11. When Martin’ father dies, Martin is assured that he can answer the question: “hat did you do to help?” p. 299) How would Martin’ father have answered the question? How would other characters answer the question?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Knopf Children's Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.