Reading guide for Isabel's Daughter by Judith Ryan Hendricks

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Isabel's Daughter

by Judith Ryan Hendricks

Isabel's Daughter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2003, 385 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2004, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

Discussion Questions

  1. Even though Avery has never met her mother, are there any parallels in their lives?

  2. When Avery runs into Will at the café, why isn't she more receptive to his suggestion that they get together and talk about the past?

  3. Why is Avery so casually cruel to Rita at times, even as she acknowledges how much she owes her?

  4. What significance does Avery's mixed blood have for her? For the story?

  5. Why is Avery so reluctant at first to learn about her mother, after all the years of wondering?

  6. What is the function of Jimmie John's character?

  7. Cassie is probably as close as Avery comes to a relative while growing up, but there is still a gap between them that apparently cannot be bridged. Why?

  8. How has Avery been shaped by her experiences at the Carson home, both with religion and relationships -- Ridley, Lee-Ann and Esperanza?

  9. What does Avery see in Paul DeGraf? What does she want from him? What does he see in her?

  10. What can she learn about Isabel from her work?

  11. Does Avery have a realistic sense of whom to trust (or mistrust)?

  12. There's a lot of fire in this story -- cooking, warmth (fireplace or woodstove) and wildfire -- what is the significance of it?

  13. How does Avery's discovery of the ticket and passport in Isabel's suitcase affect her perception of her mother? Of Paul DeGraf? Of herself?

  14. Why does it take her so long to realize that Lindsey's in love with Paul?

  15. Why does she opt not to become a caterer in Santa Fe, even though she has the experience, the backer(s)/contacts, and an obvious love of and talent for cooking?

  16. What do you think of Avery's assertion that "Babies are born with the seeds of who they'll be already inside them."? Does her own life bear this out?

  17. Why does Avery never really evidence any interest in the identity of her father, when there's a good chance that he's still alive, in the approximate vicinity, and could probably be helpful to her, at least financially?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of HarperPaperbacks. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.