Reading guide for Mrs. Hemingway by Naomi Wood

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Mrs. Hemingway

by Naomi Wood

Mrs. Hemingway
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    May 2014, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Who was your favourite Mrs. Hemingway, and why?

  2. If you could have a cocktail with any of the women, which one would it be?

  3. Which woman did you identify with the most?

  4. Why do you think women were so attracted to Hemingway? And why do you think they were so willing to turn a blind-eye to his indiscretions?

  5. Was it shocking to find out that so many of the mistresses and wives were friends?

  6. Did you have sympathy for any of the women you previously may have disliked?

  7. Ernest Hemingway was charming but also an incurable cad! Did you have any sympathy for him by the end of the novel?

  8. Why do you think he married so often, and so often made the same mistake?

  9. If you've read Paula McLain's The Paris Wife, how does the portrait of Hadley compare to her depiction in Mrs. Hemingway?

  10. Do you think if Hadley had not lost the suitcase of his work, the first Hemingways may have stuck it out? Do you think Ernest ever moved on from Hadley?

  11. Did Pauline Pfeiffer reap what she sowed? Or did you have sympathy for her by the end of her chapter?

  12. Was Martha Gellhorn too like Ernest for them to survive each other?

  13. If, in a hypothetical world, Ernest hadn't taken his own life, do you think Mary Welsh would have been his last wife?

  14. If you could choose to live in any of the locations, which would it be? Paris, Key West, Havana or Idaho?

  15. If you could live in any of the novel's epochs, which would you choose?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Penguin Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.