Reading guide for The Last Man Standing by Davide Longo

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Man Standing

by Davide Longo

The Last Man Standing
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2013, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2014, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. The reason for society's downfall is never explicitly told. What clues does the story hold, however, that explains it? Discuss whether it's a worldwide calamity or confined to Italy.

  2. Protagonist Leonardo, described as "timid," doesn't seem well-suited to a post-apocalyptic world. Discuss how his traits become strengths as the world falls further into decay.

  3. Leonardo's motivation throughout the book's second half is saving Lucia. Do you think he did?

  4. What is it about Leonardo's character that would impel him to risk his life to rescue Bauschan? Compare it to how he later rescues David and Circe.

  5. Sergio told Leonardo he had a choice between killing him and his crew or offering them brief sanctuary. He opted for sanctuary—was that the right choice?

  6. The pendulum swings between kindness and cruelty throughout the book. Which do you think would win out in a world without electricity, phones, and a functioning government? Why?

  7. Why was Leonardo's shocking sacrifice to Richard enough to free him and the children? Why did it lead to Richard's death?

  8. Leonardo is paired with two boys, Alberto and Saloman, with vastly different results. Compare how his relationship with Alberto prepared Leonardo to have a better one with Saloman.

  9. How has Leonardo changed by the end of the book? Do you think his little tribe will survive beyond the winter?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of MacLehose Press. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.