Reading guide for Give and Take by Adam M. Grant

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Give and Take

A Revolutionary Approach to Success

by Adam M. Grant

Give and Take
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2013, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2014, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer G Wilder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. In your life, who have you seen achieve the most success in the long run—the matchers, the takers, or the givers?
  2. What are the situations in which you operate more like a matcher, versus a taker or a giver? What triggers bring out each style for you?
  3. Who are the most successful givers that you know?
  4. How do you spot a taker? In your experience, what clues do they leak?
  5. In your world, whose giving goes the most unrecognized?
  6. How might you help recognize these givers in your life? How do you think they might respond?
  7. Once you have spotted a taker, how do you deal with them? What do you find are the best strategies for protecting yourself against them?
  8. What type of giving do you find most meaningful and enjoyable? Is it connecting people, sharing knowledge, providing feedback, mentoring, problem-solving, or finding ways to recognize others?
  9. How might you let others know that you enjoy this type of giving?
  10. Help-seeking is the most common starting point for giving; without it, people don't know what others need and how they can help. What would happen if you created a marketplace for giving and receiving by organizing a group of 10-15 people and inviting everyone to make a request and try to help each other? Who would you invite, and what would you ask for?
  11. If you were looking to do a five-minute favor for someone else, what would be it be?
  12. How do you decide who to help—is it the person who needs the most, the person you can help the most, or someone else?
  13. When someone asks you for help, how do you typically decide whether to help them yourself or try to connect them to someone else?
  14. When many requests are on your plate, how do you avoid burnout?
  15. How do you strike a balance between looking for the potential in others and being realistic about their intentions and capabilities?
  16. Do you tend to sprinkle your giving behavior out over time or concentrate it into a single day? Why?
  17. Have you noticed any gender differences in styles of give and take? Any differences between industries or countries?
  18. What do you think are the biggest misconceptions people have about givers? How might you help change their minds?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Penguin Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.