Reading guide for If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

If You Find Me

by Emily Murdoch

If You Find Me
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2013, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2014, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sharry Wright

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Beauty and thinness are touted to be everything in society. Carey is thin with a beautiful face. Would you trade your life for hers, to have those two things?
  2. The author has described civilization as being like a photograph, and Carey's life, the photonegative. What do you think she means by that?
  3. In society today, it's all too easy to pigeonhole or stereotype people. Carey knew great misfortune. But she also knew great gifts. What were they?
  4. Abuse is a sad fact in modern society. Carey eventually told. Did she do the right thing? What would you do?
  5. Throughout the novel, the reader is shown how books and music became soothing touchstones for Carey, in an unpredictable world. What are your touchstones?
  6. Many people remark on Delaney. Is she really a mean girl, or is she also struggling to find where she fits in this new, unexpected family?
  7. Shorty and Jenessa fit together like Leggo. Why do you suppose this dog was so healing?
  8. Carey wants the love of her new family so much, it hurts. Have you ever wanted something so much, it hurts?
  9. Carey has been described as a strong, brave, resourceful heroine. Would she have been the same if she'd kept her secret?
  10. The premise of this book is that love heals. Agree? Disagree?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of St. Martin's Griffin. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Parental Child Abduction

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.