Reading guide for My First Coup d'Etat by John Mahama

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

My First Coup d'Etat

And Other True Stories from the Lost Decades of Africa

by John Mahama

My First Coup d'Etat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2012, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2013, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beverly Melven

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Mahama dedicates My First Coup d'Etat "to the memory of my father, Mr. E. A. Mahama, a man of humility and integrity, who lived in service of his family, his people, and his nation." Give some examples of the elder Mahama's "humility and integrity." How did he impart these qualities to his nineteen children?
  2. Mahama writes, "A number of us who stayed during the 'lost decades' and lived through the difficulties, whether by choice or force, discovered that it was, ironically, during this time that we found ourselves, our voices." How did the hardships of the "lost decades" shape Mahama's personality, politics, and sensibility?
  3. As a seven-year-old student, the phrase "coup d'etat" was intriguing to Mahama, "like a game that all the upper-form students would soon be playing; and from the moment I first heard it—coup d'etat—I wished I could learn how to play this new game as well." Discuss how the coup appears through young Mahama's eyes. What does he fail to understand about the coup, and what does he sense about its dangers?
  4. "'Life is like a cycle,' Dad used to tell us. 'Everything goes around and comes around again. One day you're up, but the next day you might be down." Consider how these wise words apply to the Mahama family. When does the family enjoy its greatest prosperity? When does the cycle leave them struggling?
  5. Revisit the story of the district commissioner who insisted that Mahama's father, as a young village boy, attend a faraway school. What were the advantages and the costs of the elder Mahama's education? What was the impact on his family and community? In what ways did Mahama's own education parallel his father's?
  6. Mahama wondered after he stood up to Boafo, the bully of his school, "Why hadn't I seen before that our strength, our key to victory, was in our numbers, our unity?" Name other scenes in the memoir that prove this lesson of victory through solidarity. How does this theme of cooperation apply to Africa as a whole?
  7. According to Mahama, "I believe that little children view difference as a motivation to be more inclusive, though as we grow older and become adults we begin to see it as the opposite, a reason to exclude." Discuss how this theory of inclusion and exclusion applies to Ghana and its neighboring countries during the "lost decades" of Africa.
  8. The chapter "Full Moon Dance" opens, "The year our driver, Mallam, went mad is the same year I saw ice blocks falling from the sky and discovered that the recipe for love is a full moon and a good conductay." What adventures and discoveries does this sentence foreshadow for young Mahama?
  9. Consider Mahama's descriptions of village life in the North of Ghana. What makes Northerners different from the population of Southern Ghana? Why have Southerners often discriminated against the people of Northern Ghana? What changes to Northern village life has Mahama observed over his lifetime?
  10. Discuss Mahama's first encounter with love through his neighbor, Alice. What does Mahama learn about romance and heartbreak from their conversations and letters?
  11. Consider Mahama's evolving views of socialism. How did Mr. Wentrum introduce the tenets of socialism to Mahama and his classmates? How did Mahama manage to reconcile these new philosophies with his father's success in business? How did his views change even further when he studied in Moscow?
  12. Discuss Mahama's short-lived move to Nigieria. What successes and horrors did Mahama witness in Nigeria? What kinds of discrimination did he face, and how did he handle these challenges?
  13. At the end of the memoir, Mahama finds himself yearning for a connection to his own past: "It had placed me in proximity to Dramani, a name and a boy from long ago that I thought had been displaced, supplanted by another identity." What are some of the differences between Dramani the boy and John the man? What are some of the sources of continuity in Mahama's life, from childhood to adulthood?
  14. The memoir closes with the word "Anaa?" Discuss the meaning of this question, and the doubts and hopes that it might suggest for the future of Ghana and its families.
  15. Consider the form of My First Coup d'Etat. How do Mahama's memories of childhood and young adulthood fit together? What are some of the common themes that link these separate anecdotes?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Bloomsbury USA. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  A Brief History of Ghana

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.