Reading guide for No Mark Upon Her by Deborah Crombie

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

No Mark Upon Her

A Novel

by Deborah Crombie

No Mark Upon Her
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2012, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2013, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. One of the themes of No Mark upon Her is the notion of family - both the blood kind and the kind a person willingly creates on his own. How are these ideas of family manifested? Do you see one as being more important than the other? Can a person belong to two kinds of family at the same time?

  2. Should Gemma have given more weight to her blood family's opinions, both in her marriage and in agreeing to foster Charlotte?

  3. Talk about Gemma and Duncan. What are they like? How do their personalities work together? How have they changed over the series? Has getting married changed their relationship? How has being parents altered their lives and their outlook?

  4. Do you feel they made the right decision in bringing a mixed-race child into a white family? Are they prepared to deal with the problems this will generate, including Gemma's family's reluctance to accept Charlotte?

  5. What other families are created in the course of the story?

  6. If you've read the previous books in the series, how does No Mark upon Her compare? How does this book differ?

  7. Are there themes the books share that offer insight into the author's values?

  8. Does No Mark upon Her focus on a particular theme?

  9. If you have read previous Gemma and Duncan stories, what did you learn about them in No Mark upon Her that you didn't know?

  10. Do you think Rebecca Meredith could have seen justice served in a way that would not have had such tragic consequences?

  11. How did Kieran's relationship with Finn help him in dealing with post- traumatic stress disorder? Do you think he would have had a chance of recovery without Finn and without Tavie's intervention? Did his relationship with Becca help or hurt that process?

  12. The author uses possessions and habitat to tell the reader something about a character, as Duncan demonstrates when he asks DI Singla to describe the contents of his wife's handbag. What does Kieran's boatshed tell us about him? What does Becca's cottage tell us about her? Can you think of other examples?

  13. How does rowing tie the threads of the book together, both literally and metaphorically?

  14. Do you think that Duncan's refusal to go along with the corruption in the police culture will have long term consequences for his job, and in his relationship with Gemma? Do you feel he made the right choices?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of William Morrow. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Kincaid/James Series

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.