Reading guide for In the Sea There are Crocodiles by Fabio Geda

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In the Sea There are Crocodiles

Based on the True Story of Enaiatollah Akbari

by Fabio Geda

In the Sea There are Crocodiles by Fabio Geda X
In the Sea There are Crocodiles by Fabio Geda
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2011, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2012, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer Dawson Oakes

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. The novel is narrated by someone recalling their childhood experiences. How does this affect your reading of the story? Do you feel more or less sympathetic than if it had been in the present tense? Do you always believe the narrator?


  2. Does knowing that this is a true story affect the way you read the novel? Are Enaiatollah's questions of Fabio throughout the novel meant to remind you that this is true?


  3. There are very few female characters encountered in the novel - why do you think this is?


  4. Overall, do you find Enaiatollah's story uplifting or heartbreaking? Is any of it hard to comprehend? Which sections affected you most?


  5. If Enaiatollah's story had been published as a non-fiction memoir, do you think your opinion of the story would be different? Would you have approached it differently?


  6. Discuss the contrast of the childhood innocence of playing buzul-bazi and the Taliban arriving to close the school. Does the fact that this is a child's experience of such brutality make it more shocking?


  7. Despite the novel being split into sections named after the countries Enaiatollah has lived in - he says that he "doesn't want to talk about places. They aren't important." If place and belonging mean nothing to Enaiatollah, what do you think drives him and his journeys? Is it freedom, friendship, safety?


  8. Discuss Enaiatollah's ideas about time - maybe consider the episode with his first watch and the fact that he doesn't know his true birthday.


  9. Fabio questions Enaiatollah on his mixture of similes: "It's funny. Sometimes you say things like 'he was as tall as a goat.' At other times, when you make comparisons, you come up with McDonalds, or baseball." "Why is that funny?" "Because they belong to different cultures, different worlds." Why do you think Enaiatollah does this?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Anchor Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.