Reading guide for Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Graceling

by Kristin Cashore

Graceling by Kristin Cashore X
Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2008, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

Not a discussion guide, as such, but a fun quiz that could lead to discussion! .....

Are You Graced?
Take this quiz to find out!

1) If you were cornered by an army of the king’s soldiers, would you:
  a) Fight each and every one to the death (not yours, theirs)?
  b) Make a mad dash for it?
  c) Surrender peacefully with your dignity, but trembling inside?
  d) Play dead?

2) Choose your preferred weapon:
  a) your own two hands and brute strength
  b) dagger
  c) bow & arrow
  d) none—you’re a pacifist

3) If you were lost in the woods, would you:
  a) Rely on your keen sense of direction and environmental cues to find your way?
  b) Always refer to a trusty map (if you have a map)?
  c) Ask locals for directions (if there are locals)?
  d) Wander aimlessly to see what, or who, you come across and pray not to die?

4) Do you know how to build and light a fire without matches in the snow?
  a) Yes, and it would light on the first attempt.
  b) Yes, but it might take a while to get the fire started.
  c) No, but I’d be willing to give it a shot.
  d) No, I’d get frostbite.

5) Would you rather:
  a) Fight a mountain lion?
  b) Fall in love?
  c) Overthrow a corrupt king?
  d) Sleep?

6) Your best friend is:
  a) a studly warrior prince
  b) a horse
  c) a bookish, but sweet prince
  d) your nursemaid

7) Do you enjoy martial arts?
  a) Yes, I am a ninja master.
  b) Yes, especially in the dark.
  c) No, but I could learn.
  d) No: hand-to-hand combat is barbaric.

8) Regarding strangers, do you:
  a) Approach suspiciously, if at all?
  b) Try to read their minds?
  c) Avoid them when possible?
  d) Befriend them immediately— what’s the harm?







Answer Key

Give yourself 3 points for every A answer, 2 points for every B answer; 1 point for every C answer, and 0 points for every D answer.

If you score 20–24 points, you have the Killing grace!  You are a brave and able fighter.  Others should watch out for you. Even though you can take care of yourself, you tend to alienate people. Killing grace celebrity: Katsa

If you score 14–19 points, you have the Fighting grace.  You are independent and courageous, but slightly more open to getting help from others.  Your best asset is your ability to reason, and others value your opinion.
Fighting grace celebrity: Prince Po

If you score 8–13 points, you have the Relationships grace.  Your strengths are related to love and relationships, rather than to bravery or physical prowess.  It’s best to let others do the fighting for you, but you’re not afraid to stick up for yourself when necessary.
Relationships grace celebrity: Princess Bitterblue

If you score fewer than 8 points, you may not actually have a grace.  But if you do, it might be the Calming grace. Or it might be the Intellect grace. Either way, you need other people to protect you, and you prefer to take the path of least resistance.  You have a calm countenance that soothes everyone around you.  You excel at puzzles, solitaire, and knitting, and you are probably very well-read. Calming grace celebrity: Nurse Helda  Intellect grace celebrity: Prince Raffin

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Graphia. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.