Reading guide for The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lincoln Lawyer

by Michael Connelly

The Lincoln Lawyer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2005, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 528 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. "There is no client as scary as an innocent man." This is the very first line of the book, spoken by J. Michael Haller, a famous criminal defense attorney and the father of Mickey Haller, the main character in The Lincoln Lawyer. Did you understand what this meant? Why would an innocent man scare an attorney?

  2. "Don't do the crime if you can't pay for my time." When we are first introduced to Mickey Haller, we find out that he is a criminal defense attorney who knows how to play all the angles. He has been in trouble with the California Bar before. His clients are gang members, drug dealers, prostitutes and con men. He does his best for his clients as long as they can pay his bill. He seems to be the kind of lawyer that we all love to hate. How did you feel about this character when you first began reading about him? "I don't know many people who have ex-wives who still like them."

  3. Later we find out that Mickey has two ex-wives, both of whom are still close to him. One even works for him. He has business associates that are also loyal longtime friends. He has longtime clients who he continues to work for, even when they can't pay him. What does this reveal about his character? Did your feelings toward him as a character change the more you read about him?

  4. "There was nothing about the law that I cherished anymore." Mickey says that: "the law was not about truth. It was about negotiation, amelioration, manipulation. I didn't deal in guilt and innocence because everybody was guilty. Of something." It seems like a very cynical statement. Yet at the same time, Mickey does believe in a justice system based on checks and balances. He feels like he is an important cog in the wheel and that everybody is owed a right to defend themselves. Do you agree with Mickey's view of the law and the justice system? Would you describe him as a cynic or a realist? Can you understand the value of defense attorney's within our legal system? Did this book change your opinion of the justice system?

  5. "A lot of these new people just don't get it." Mickey and his ex-wife, deputy district attorney Maggie McPherson, appeared to have a different view of the law. To her it is a calling and about justice. She views what he does as sleazy. Mickey says that her calling may have cost them their marriage. They seem to love each other but can you understand why their marriage didn't work? Do you think they will end up together again?

  6. "He looks like a babe in the woods." What was your initial impression of Louis Ross Roulet? Did you think he was innocent or guilty? How did your feelings change for him as you read the book?

  7. "I was always worried that I might not recognize innocence." Roulet's defense was based on the theory that Reggie Campo was after his money and that he was set-up. We are meant to believe that she allowed herself to be beaten up in order to score a big payoff. Did you believe this at first? Is our society so litigious that we could easily believe that someone would do that?

  8. "Any case, Anytime, Anywhere." Did you respect Mickey's skill as an attorney and his ability to work within and use the justice system?

  9. "He grew up knowing he was going." Many of Mickey's clients were drug dealers who viewed prison as an anticipated part of life. Mickey's job was to get them the best deal possible. He felt like these young men never had a shot at anything but thug life. He listened to rap music as a way of understanding their lives. Do you think Mickey felt that he had a calling too - to work for people that he views as the underdog? Did his attitude surprise you?

  10. "What's the difference between a catfish and a defense attorney?" Why are lawyer jokes so commonplace and acceptable? Mickey says "They always blame the lawyer for making a living," but with clients like drug dealers, prostitutes and con men, can you see why Mickey would be viewed as a pariah by many people?

  11. "By then the Titanic had already left the dock." Mickey represented Jesus Menendez in what appeared to be a no-win case. Jesus couldn't pay him anything but Mickey knew that he would be paid in publicity, which would help him get other clients. Jesus' claims of innocence didn't matter. Mickey didn't even try to investigate the case further. He simply was there to get the best deal for his client. Was Mickey's lack of effort simply because Jesus couldn't pay for a good defense or was the evidence available at the time too overwhelming? Do you think you can get a good defense without money?

  12. "I had been presented with innocence but I had not seen it or grasped it." At the time, Mickey viewed Jesus' case as hopeless. The evidence was overwhelming and Mickey came on board the case late. If they had gone to trial and lost Jesus might have been sentenced to death. He admitted to taking the case for the publicity value only. Given the circumstances, do you think Mickey was right to feel guilty about Jesus?

  13. "There is no trap so deadly as the one you set for yourself." Mickey was trying to insure that Raul's murderer would be caught, that Jesus Menendez would be released, and that Louis Ross Roulet would go to prison - all while saving his own law practice. But by doing this all on his own he put his life and the lives of others in jeopardy. Did you understand why Mickey chose to not tell the police about Roulet and get them involved?

  14. "I traded evil for innocence." Mickey uses questionable ways to make sure that justice is served. He tampered with a witness (Corliss); he lied to his client and to the police; he withheld information. Do you think the end justified his actions?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Warner Books Inc.. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.