Reader reviews and comments on Warriors of God, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Warriors of God

Richard the Lionheart and Saladin in the Third Crusade

by James Reston Jr.

Warriors of God
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2001, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Warriors of God
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

imad (11/13/04)

Excellent book. Required reading for these tense times. From an historical point of view extremely provocative and challenging.Very good narration and first class erudition. Refreshing open mindedness ( a lesson for some of the bigots that have chronicled the Crusades in this last century ). The battle scenes need a tad bit more detail however and scriptural interpretations are not always accurate. Otherwise this book merits a five.
Sarah (11/07/04)

This book has a lot intersting facts and is very informative but it is extremely hard to follow. It isn't for the average reader. You definately have to be a History major or minor to get into this one. But it is very well written and very factual. Anyone can appreciate that.
Jessey (10/05/04)


This book was extremely detailed and too over-processed for my liking. It seems as though the James Reston read through a dozen text books and revised all of them, compiling data into novel form. At least TRY to make it interesting...
Kelsey again (08/25/04)

I forgot to say that the book is hard to follow and is confusing!!!
Kelsey (08/25/04)

This is the most boring book I have ever read, it is taking me forever to get through it and I am a fast reader and I love to read. The book is so factual that it is just like a textbook except it is in book form.
Joseph L. Moore (10/27/03)

Well written and engaging.
Abe Arkeen (11/13/02)

James Reston, Jr. makes the paramount event of the Middle Ages, the Crusades, come alive in "Warriors of God." He combines fascinating exerpts from Arab and Christian chroniclers, and weaves a tale worthy of the principals involved: Richard the Lionheart and Saladin. Ultimately, the reader will come away from Reston's book with a deeper understanding of the cultural and religous divide the West and Islam face in the early 21st Century. TextWarriors of God
Anonymous (10/14/02)

A well written novel of the Third Crusade. Author is accurate (according to history), but hard to keep reader's attention.
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.