Reader reviews and comments on John Adams, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

John Adams

by David McCullough

John Adams by David McCullough
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 752 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2002, 752 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 12 reader reviews for John Adams
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ellen (07/01/08)

John Adams
An absolutely MUST READ novel. The author puts real flesh on historical figures making them complicated yet awe inspiring human beings. An absolutely wonderful read. I will recommend this summer reading to my bookclub.
Robert Rohan (05/20/08)

The real father of these United States
I happened to watch the HBO series of John Adam and decided to read the book it was based upon, written by David McCullough. Based upon the letter's Adam's and his family wrote in there days, I found it to be the most enlighting book I've ever read about the Revolutionary period.
From this book I believe Adams to be the true Father of the United States. More so than Washington or Jefferson. His personal mind seemed to reflect closely the architecture of the Constitution, more than any other person. After reading the book I now hear Adam's voice, as I read the Constitution.
The book gave me hope with the country's current political situation. After George Washington's Presidency I read how politics was dirty from the very start, between two friends (Adams and Jefferson) it got nasty. The quest for power was always there, with the information age, it is easier to find, via TV, net, or etc. Negative politics were not evolved, they were always there.
A new tribute or monument should be commemorated to John Adams. It is my opinion that Andrew Jackson should be taken off the twenty dollar bill and replaced with Adams, and after reading the book, who could argue with that?
Carolyn (10/23/06)

John Adams by David McCullough
Being the first book picked by the Book Club, I recently joined,
I was overwhelmed by Mr. McCullough's research on John Adams. I felt like I was back in History class only this time enjoying it. I learned more in this book about our
country and founding fathers than all the time spent in class. Mr. McCullough should write our history books. Good Job Mr. McCullough!
Steve (06/07/04)

As a 20 something who is not normally apt to reading books thicker then a brick I was completly captivated by the epic story of John Adams life. At times I felt that I was reading my own history. This book has been a catalyst for conversation in my life for over a year now. It has been the topic of conversation amongst my former Dean of Students, an Officer in the Military, a co-worker, and a couple who works as missionaries in South Africa, who by the way read chapters to one another before they go to sleep. I recommend this book to anyone who has a passion for life and wants to themslves do something with their lives that is greater then themsleves.
Paula (07/24/03)

Fascinating. In "As Good As It Gets", Jack Nicholson pays Helen Hunt his highest compliment when he tells her, "You make me want to be a better person." At the risk of sounding schmultzy, this book inspires me to do more for my community and humanity. AMEN!
sandra hunsd (11/17/02)

This book is one of the most amazing biographies ever written. It paints an unimaginable picture of the life of John Adams, providing descriptive detail and knowledgable information.
kernscot (04/30/02)

This is the way to learn history! This is real and difficult to put down. One of the best books I have read.
Teacher (04/19/02)

What a way to learn history! Why do we continue to teach history through a poorly written textbook where only facts are presented. Students need to know that these were real people working and struggling to live their lives during their time in history. Most of us will confess that we didn't like history very much when we were students but have only learned to appreciate it as we grow older. Educators need to put the history textbook on the shelf and immerse our students in literature such as John Adams by David McCullough.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The End of Eddy
    The End of Eddy
    by Edouard Louis
    The End of Eddy has been a publishing phenomenon in Édouard Louis' native France, where it...
  • Book Jacket: If We Were Villains
    If We Were Villains
    by M L. Rio
    22 out of 28 of our reviewers rated If We Were Villains four or five stars, giving it an overall ...
  • Book Jacket: The Islamic Enlightenment
    The Islamic Enlightenment
    by Christopher de Bellaigue
    In this comprehensive and well-researched history, de Bellaigue examines the evolution of Islamic ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's A S B Every M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -