Reader reviews and comments on Fast Food Nation, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fast Food Nation

The Dark Side of The All American Meal

by Eric Schlosser

Fast Food Nation
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2001, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2002, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Fast Food Nation
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Emily Anonymous (03/17/12)

Fast Food Nation
People love fast food because it tastes good, it's quick, and affordable

The book explains a one sided negative view on fast food, in deep passages of dangers in meat slaughtering factories, dangers of meat, fast food ingredients, natural and artificial flavors, preservatives, illnesses, low salary fast food job employees and their poor working conditions, crimes, creepy fast food commercials, farmers, slaughtered animals. And last of but least, the wealthy fast food business owners..Anyone who thought they loved fast food and would eat it in moderation will choose not to after reading this book, it's a little dreadful, and I question if all the biased facts on fast food are really true.
Christine (03/26/07)

Fast Food Nation
A year before reading Fast Food Nation I saw the move “Super Size Me,” I thought the book would be the same as the movie, but it wasn’t. Schlosser doesn’t only show what happens when you eat fast food, he tells of the making of it. He tells of the bad conditions in the meat packing facilities, not just for the animals but also for the worker. He explains how the food industry has grown into a multi-billion dollar industry and is now a big part of the American culture, economy, and politics. This is a good read and will make you think twice before going throw a drive throw.
Janet (11/22/06)

An eye opener...
Often overly detailed and slow, this book is still worth reading. It will - without a doubt - change the way you eat for the better. I would rate it a 3 for overall writing style, but because it had such an impact on my life, and I can still remember so many important details, I bumped the rating to a 4.
Edner P. (07/20/06)

Fast Food Nation
This was one of the best books I've read. It got a lot of information about fast food.O)ne thing I dislike is when the author is changing. It makes you confusing sometimes. After all it's a good book.
Renee (10/10/05)

Fast Food Nation
I'm in an 093 English class, and this book is required for mid-terms. It's one of the worse books I've ever read in my life (besides The Giver). It's way too broad. Sometimes the author goes off topic to an example that has nothing to do with his POV. The book starts off interesting and grabs the reader's attention immediately, but once you get to the second or third chapter, it gets pretty boring with boatloads of facts that you won't even bother remembering.
allie (03/01/05)

I really enjoyed it--it was very insightful, and it makes you reflect on some things
Anonymous (10/28/04)

THID BOOK IS AWESOME
e (10/11/04)

This was an incredible book not only because of the topic it covered, but the thorough manner in which the author expounded upon his research. The time and effort Schlosser spent to write this is evident in his calmly passionate explanation of the situation in which we find ourselves today. This book is a call to action, a must-read for those of us who want to be informed about our choices as American consumers.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.