Reader reviews and comments on A Girl Named Zippy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Girl Named Zippy

Growing Up Small in Mooreland Indiana

by Haven Kimmel

A Girl Named Zippy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2001, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 12 reader reviews for A Girl Named Zippy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Girl Anachronism (01/27/09)

Unsettling
I have heard nothing but praise for this book, but to be honest, I found it deeply unsettling. Haven Kimmel relates the odd and often unfortunate details of her life with such offhandedness, it is difficult to know how to read this story, and which of the characters to sympathize with. The way she leaves many stories only partially told only exacerbates this effect. Parts of Zippy read much like the zany and touching childhood reminisces by Jean Sheppard in his various semi-autobiographical works. Zippy, however, strikes a much darker tone with stories of wanton animal cruelty, family dysfunction, and death that make it hard to laugh at the more lighthearted memories presented without feeling vaguely queasy.In all, while I found Zippy to be absorbing, and even touching at times, the overall effect is not unlike happening on to the scene of a wreck- you feel compelled to watch as events unfold, and may even be moved by what you see, but you feel ghoulish for being unable to tear your eyes away.
meaghan (11/19/04)

I'm a 16 year old girl who was pleasantly surprized by the resonace of this particular peice. I would recomend it to anyone who misses stories about the time when childhood was full of adventure and good clean pure fun.
??Mystery?? (11/02/04)

I haven't read this book at all. I just wanted to say something, well actually, type somrthing. I was utterly suprised when I looked up the title Silverwing, and saw that they hadn't listed it here. I mean, Silverwing, by Kenneth Oppel, is one of the BEST books anyone could read! And even MORE suprising, they diddn't ANY of Kenneth Oppels books on this website! I'd say THAT was a waste of time! Well, thank-you for reading this.
Mark_Bledsoe (03/04/04)

Very funny, very touching, you could fall in love with Zippy
charday (01/05/04)

it was very detailed. it was full of adventure. you should read it!
Kristine (12/08/03)

I laughed myself stupid. What a beautiful story! Zippy describes growing up in such terms that its not baffeling anymore, like it was when I was small. I am interested in more!!!! A must read!
Lily (08/22/03)

This was an exceptionally good book. Although I don't usually laugh to myself while reading...this book caused me to do so. You'll find yourself laughing aloud and buzzing through the pages. Almost every chapter is easy to relate to your own life. I would recommend this book to most everyone, so sit back and enjoy this great read.
Conni C. (08/07/03)

I loved this book. A must read.

Conni
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.