Reader reviews and comments on A Girl Named Zippy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Girl Named Zippy

Growing Up Small in Mooreland Indiana

by Haven Kimmel

A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel X
A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2001, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 12 reader reviews for A Girl Named Zippy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Girl Anachronism (01/27/09)

Unsettling
I have heard nothing but praise for this book, but to be honest, I found it deeply unsettling. Haven Kimmel relates the odd and often unfortunate details of her life with such offhandedness, it is difficult to know how to read this story, and which of the characters to sympathize with. The way she leaves many stories only partially told only exacerbates this effect. Parts of Zippy read much like the zany and touching childhood reminisces by Jean Sheppard in his various semi-autobiographical works. Zippy, however, strikes a much darker tone with stories of wanton animal cruelty, family dysfunction, and death that make it hard to laugh at the more lighthearted memories presented without feeling vaguely queasy.In all, while I found Zippy to be absorbing, and even touching at times, the overall effect is not unlike happening on to the scene of a wreck- you feel compelled to watch as events unfold, and may even be moved by what you see, but you feel ghoulish for being unable to tear your eyes away.
meaghan (11/19/04)

I'm a 16 year old girl who was pleasantly surprized by the resonace of this particular peice. I would recomend it to anyone who misses stories about the time when childhood was full of adventure and good clean pure fun.
??Mystery?? (11/02/04)

I haven't read this book at all. I just wanted to say something, well actually, type somrthing. I was utterly suprised when I looked up the title Silverwing, and saw that they hadn't listed it here. I mean, Silverwing, by Kenneth Oppel, is one of the BEST books anyone could read! And even MORE suprising, they diddn't ANY of Kenneth Oppels books on this website! I'd say THAT was a waste of time! Well, thank-you for reading this.
Mark_Bledsoe (03/04/04)

Very funny, very touching, you could fall in love with Zippy
charday (01/05/04)

it was very detailed. it was full of adventure. you should read it!
Kristine (12/08/03)

I laughed myself stupid. What a beautiful story! Zippy describes growing up in such terms that its not baffeling anymore, like it was when I was small. I am interested in more!!!! A must read!
Lily (08/22/03)

This was an exceptionally good book. Although I don't usually laugh to myself while reading...this book caused me to do so. You'll find yourself laughing aloud and buzzing through the pages. Almost every chapter is easy to relate to your own life. I would recommend this book to most everyone, so sit back and enjoy this great read.
Conni C. (08/07/03)

I loved this book. A must read.

Conni
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.