Reader reviews and comments on Mystic River, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Mystic River

by Dennis Lehane

Mystic River
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2001, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2002, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Mystic River
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Pimento (06/17/10)

Good book, but dragged in spots
I enjoyed this book overall. It was a very good story and much of it was very hard to put down. I read it fairly quickly.

However, sometimes I found myself skimming over long descriptions of characters or places because I found myself impatient to get through them to the meat of the story.

Other than that, the writing and the story are very good. I have read other books of Mr. Lehane's and I feel the same way in terms of skimming certain descriptive parts that I find a little boring.

I have checked out Shutter Island from the library and it's next on my list of reading. (Saw the movie and it was AMAZING, the best movie I've seen in a few years).
MONI80 (07/07/06)

BETTER THAN THE MOVIE!
After watching the movie and leaving somewhat unsatisfied I tracked down the book and can now say that the story just a as hearttouching and moving as the reviews say. In the movie though Tim Robbins does an awesome job it seems incomplete without the insight on his emotional state that you get from the book. In the book Lehane creates unforgettable characters that are drawn out and explained so all the pregnant pauses and 'deep' reflective glances you get on screen you can now understand. I am a huge fan of descriptive narratives and emotionally intriguing characters and this book is full of them with a little twist that will cause you to reevaluate yourself and how you view people. Truly moving and a wonderful read.
Nicolle (12/13/04)

Great book! would recommend it to any one
- a n t h - (11/20/04)

This book is awesome. I couldn't put it down, I just had to keep on reading. What an ending! The movie was great too!
KC (10/19/04)

This was an excellent book. I really enjoyed it and I found that it was better than the movie!
Raleigh (04/04/04)

All of Dennis Lehane's book are awesome. I am even using him for my junior theme.
Anonymous (11/21/03)

very good
Mindi (06/17/02)

This book kept me up all night...I just couldn't wait to see what happened! I recommend it to anyone who likes fiction.
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Girl Waits with Gun
by Amy Stewart

An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true adventures of one of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.