Reader reviews and comments on A Day Late and A Dollar Short, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Day Late and A Dollar Short

by Terry McMillan

A Day Late and A Dollar Short by Terry McMillan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2001, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2001, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 14 reader reviews for A Day Late and A Dollar Short
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Yvette (09/22/04)

I read this book with interest and questions. In my poor Harlem family we did not condone the use of profanity, therefore can anyone discuss why the author Terry McMillan has her characters use so much of it. I am an older reader but this was a sore spot for me especially since critics seem to think this represents a typical African American family. I disagree with this assessment. In many poor Black families profanity is a no-no? Has our world changed that much?
a j darden (05/07/04)

I really enjoyed everything about the book from the writing style to the complexity of the characters. T. McMillan is an execellent story teller.
jackie watkins (11/11/03)

Fantastic. Everyone should read this book, you'll find a family member among the pages. I know I found several, including myself. A must read for the avid reader.
Ms Tee (09/02/03)

I read this book,and was so enlighted it was hard to put down.
It will have you laughing,and feeling sad too.
I can relate to some of things that happen in that family,
It's like the author was talking to me.
It was a good book and every family
should have this book in their house whole.
God Bless you Terry!
Keep up the good work.
Ms Tee
Twain (07/29/03)

This book, which I read almost a year ago, captures the reader from the start. The characters are breathing also, from the start of the book. they are so clearly defined that the names could have been delelted from the text after the first forty pages, still you'd know exactly who is speaking, who is dealing with which situation, and who is pulling them all together once again. i read this book while visiting friends for a few days, picked it up on the way to NYC, it became an issue with my friends, who kept demanding that i put the book down and tell them about my life in Paris. i couldn't put the book down. I left it for them to read. i was thanked and forgiven. and thanked several times more. not since Mama Day, Gloira Naylor's tale, have i enjyed a book so much.

I have enjoyed Stella and Waiting, but this book, i thought, during and after reading it, should become a movie. it would do very well on stage as well. i think everyone, without regard to color, can see their family in the characters, which you find yourself careing more and more about, then finally missing them, as you realize days later that they are charaters invented and not people you can drop in on to find out what they are doing or how they are doing. you become very involved in their indidviual and collective challenges wanting each of them to succeed. Terry makes you glade you learned to read!!!
Candace (05/04/03)

This was a good book about a disfunctional family that was very functional at the end of it all.
Courtney (04/10/03)

The book was great and I really liked how it showed real insight into how black families, no matter how mad or dysfunctional the family may be, when the time comes the family can come together and back one another up.
Vikki Koonce (10/25/02)

I think that this book sends a positive message to many different families. It teaches us that you should appreciate what you have before what you have that neesd to be appreciated is gone. Since I am a writer also, your book as inspired me to send out positive messages.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Ghachar Ghochar
    by Vivek Shanbhag
    The Bengaluru (aka Bangalore) that has dominated economic news headlines over the past decade is the...
  • Book Jacket: Caught in the Revolution
    Caught in the Revolution
    by Helen Rappaport
    So taken were BookBrowse's First Impression reviewers by the inside look at the start of the Russian...
  • Book Jacket: Hillbilly Elegy
    Hillbilly Elegy
    by J.D. Vance
    In this illuminating memoir, Vance recounts his trajectory from growing up a "hillbilly" in ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Mercies in Disguise
    by Gina Kolata

    A story of hope, a family's genetic destiny, and the science that rescued them.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Our Short History
    by Lauren Grodstein

    Lauren Grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it's stronger, than before.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

There is no such thing as a moral or immoral book. Books are either well written or badly written. That is all.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -