Reader reviews and comments on The First Time, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The First Time

by Joy Fielding

The First Time
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2000, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2001, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for The First Time
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Debra (05/23/10)

The first time
I really enjoyed this book, I took it away on holiday for one week and could not put it down. I was drawn in from the beginning to the character of Mattie and could identify totally with the dilemma in which she finds herself. The book is well written and will appeal to many. I read the book and relayed the story to my husband who was also captivated awaiting the outcome. The story gets to the heart of family life with all its ups and downs and loves and losses. It is a sad story but makes the reader realise that life is short and must be led to the full. The story outlines how baggage that follows us from earlier in our lives can destroy the future if we let it. I would recommend this novel and say read and then love and live life to the full!
carly (01/23/05)

a very good book. i love joy as an author and i enjoyed this book as much as her others.
eyesod02 (11/30/03)


This book was GREAT! I didn't have high expectations for this book since I usually don't like romance novels, but picked it up at the bookstore since it was a "bargain book" and sounded somewhat interesting. All I have to say is that I don't remember one moment of feeling bored. Books usually have some part in them that are not so interesting, but this story made me want to keep going every second! This book is worth the time and more than the bargain that I got it for!
toothfairy (09/23/02)


Masterful storytelling! Joy Fielding creates complex, compelling characters that power the novel from beginning to end. She dares to and succeeds in exploring emotional issues that are as real as they are complicated. This novel hits home. Well, it sure did for me.

Highly recommended!
Anne (06/24/02)

Congratulaions Joy Fielding! It's been a long time since i've picked up a book and haven't been able to put it down. 'The First Time' is a story that touches your heart... it can happen to any of us. You brought the characters to life so beautifully and made the story so real, I laughed and cried and clung to the roller coaster ride of emotions until the last word. I'm on my way out now to get another of your novels...they're addictive!
Rachael (04/19/02)

I thought this novel was excellent. My mother read it and recommended it to me. I thought it was a wnderful book with emotion and real life situations. I would recommend it to anyone who loves books that they can't put down.
Anonymous (03/21/02)

Dear Joy,
This is the first time I have read one of your books.It certainly won't be the last.The story flowed well & kept me enthralled.I found myself thoroughly caught up in it's characters,
particularly the last half of the book.I cried serveral times during some of the chapters,I also found it very humorous as well.
When I finished the book,I couldn't put it down I kept hugging it & whilst crying my eyes out,I kept thinking of how my own life could be improved.I know that it is a novel and meant to be read as such but many thanks for making me think more on how to get on with my life instead of waiting for it to be over.
Anonymous (02/22/02)

I was unfamiliar with Fielding's work, and picked up Missing Pieces at a secondhand store. I quite enjoyed her writing style, loved the easy dialogue, etc. Then I picked up the First Time anticipating a good read. Unfortunately, not he case. The storyline was maudlin, and the characters weren't very likable, and it was just very amateurish. I don't think I'll try another Fielding unless a freind recommends one.
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood
    Bryn Greenwood's debut, All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, is a harsh, raw, and ultimately, truthful...
  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Ashes of Fiery Weather
    by Kathleen Donohoe

    "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.