Reader reviews and comments on Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone

1st Published in UK as Harry Potter & The Philosopher's Stone

by J.K. (Joanne) Rowling

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. (Joanne) Rowling X
Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. (Joanne) Rowling
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1998, 309 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1999, 312 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 36
There are currently 283 reader reviews for Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

tomy (02/29/12)

HarryPotter1
I have never read such a wondrous and time consuming book. A true legend Potter will be, for years and years to come.
kelly (01/04/12)

2 thumbs up!
This book has inspired me to read more at school and at home. I love the Harry Potter series and I'm in the middle of reading the second one! I think J.K Rowling is a great author with a creative imagination! Two thumbs up! :)
kasy (01/03/12)

Harry Potter
This book is filled with mystery and adventure, and very enjoyable for all ages!
painted caves 23 (04/09/11)

da da da
It was full of action and intense suspense. I loved how J.K. Rowling displayed the characters. She makes every feel like they are special. My favorite part is the end when the characters head below the trapped door. They defeat their challenges as we all should in life. When that hurdle comes right at us, we should believe in ourselves and jump over the hurdle. I would recommend this book to all children and adults.
englandlover99 (02/12/11)

AMAZINGLY AWESOME!!
I am a very big reader and this book was AWESOME! I loved it very much, now my brother is reading it. he's only half way through, and he thinks that it's brilliant already! I absolutely LOVED this book and would reccomend it to everyone!
Kennedy (02/05/11)

Wizardly Awesome
Being in the fifth grade: I loved it. From the first page to the last, the book kept me reading. There was suspense, action, adventure with danger thrown in there. A must read book for all to enjoy....
me (01/25/11)

Some
It is great. About the greatest book I ever read.I read a lot of books but this one is the best one in my opinion. It is adventurous, fun, mysterious, and even suspenseful. I love this book.
student (12/14/10)

a 9th grader
This is an amazing book but you do not have the main mysterious part that is at the end.It's all about who is the YOU KNOW WHO that everyone is not allowed say the name of? what was being protected from the 3rd out of bounds corridor? who tries to kill Harry and why? You are missing the main important mysterious info that makes people finish the book till the end!!!!!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.