Reader reviews and comments on Jewel, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Jewel

by Bret Lott

Jewel by Bret Lott X
Jewel by Bret Lott
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 1999, 255 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 1999, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Jewel
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Bev (10/14/16)

Well written
I loved the book. Very well written. It did get a bit confusing as it went back and forth from times before and after. I finished it in one day. Very intriguing. Showed life as it used to be. But I am very confused. I did not understand the last chapter. Was she reliving the past in her mind or was it happening. It made me uneasy as I don't understand the end. Could someone please explain it for me?
Linda Anders (11/28/11)

Jewel by BRET LOTT
This book was devastatingly boring. The writing has a very confusing style that goes back and forth in time without warning. It is very obscene and I think the author had a little too much fun using the "N" word. The writing is nor just poor, its GHASTLY!
ronan (09/08/06)

jewel
This book so confusing , I become too lazy to read it.
Nancy Johnson (09/23/03)


9-23-03

   In the beginning, I almost added Mr. Lott's book, "Jewel", to the box of books I had discarded or read to be passed along to others. It was a used book, you see, with pages that kept falling out which, in the past, has been reason enough for me to give it up. But, I could not. Something kept me coming back to it and reading a few more pages in between my many other activities until I couldn’t put it down unless it was absolutely necessary. It literally "sucked" me into the lives of Jewel, Leston and their family. At first, I fairly skimmed over some sentences and/or paragraphs because the immense detail was almost overwhelming. Then, I caught myself backtracking so I wouldn’t miss anything. After that, I didn’t miss a word and read untill my eyes blurred.

   On one hand, the meaning of “look around only to see that your life could be so much worse” was reinforced in my heart and mind, allowing me to give thanks for my life, knowing I would never be willing to trade it with anyone else's life. On the other hand, my life could have been much better if I had the amount of gumption, ability to commit and strength of character of “Jewel”.

   
   I cried unchecked, pondered and reflected, able to see the positive about the wrongs in my life. I realize that, at times, we do what we have to do, without regret, excuses or apology. I thank God. It touched me very deeply and profoundly, and I consider his book an unexpected and valuable gift. Nancy Johnson, nanart02@aol.com -- www.artsyfaces.com

   
Crystalee (06/16/03)

Now that I have successfully finished this book, (yes, in just a matter of days!) I can give it a rating of 5 stars!
Crystalee (06/14/03)

"Jewel" is a story of compassion and love- between a mother and her special daughter, between her and her other children, and between her and her husband. This novel is very well-written and a definite page turner. Once you pick it up, you wont be able to put it down. The suspense between chapters leaves you wondering what is going to happen next, and the story is very heartwarming. I am only halfway through the novel, but I am loving it and finding myself reading numerous chapters in one day. The story is beckoning me now- I can't wait to see what happens now that Jewel has left behind her old life and has started a new one with her family!
Fahreen (12/17/02)

this book was so long and it sucked!
i had to do it for a book report and I slept everytime i tried reading it!
SLK (03/24/02)

Jewel is a very powerful novel by Bret Lott, describing the true hardships of raising a daughter who never grows up. Jewel is willing to go on a journey without any direction and without any money across the country in search of help for Brenda Kay. A very powerful and moving novel, one i truly couldn't put down.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.