Reader reviews and comments on Jewel, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Jewel

by Bret Lott

Jewel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 1999, 255 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 1999, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for Jewel
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Linda Anders (11/28/11)

Jewel by BRET LOTT
This book was devastatingly boring. The writing has a very confusing style that goes back and forth in time without warning. It is very obscene and I think the author had a little too much fun using the "N" word. The writing is nor just poor, its GHASTLY!
ronan (09/08/06)

jewel
This book so confusing , I become too lazy to read it.
Nancy Johnson (09/23/03)


9-23-03

   In the beginning, I almost added Mr. Lott's book, "Jewel", to the box of books I had discarded or read to be passed along to others. It was a used book, you see, with pages that kept falling out which, in the past, has been reason enough for me to give it up. But, I could not. Something kept me coming back to it and reading a few more pages in between my many other activities until I couldn’t put it down unless it was absolutely necessary. It literally "sucked" me into the lives of Jewel, Leston and their family. At first, I fairly skimmed over some sentences and/or paragraphs because the immense detail was almost overwhelming. Then, I caught myself backtracking so I wouldn’t miss anything. After that, I didn’t miss a word and read untill my eyes blurred.

   On one hand, the meaning of “look around only to see that your life could be so much worse” was reinforced in my heart and mind, allowing me to give thanks for my life, knowing I would never be willing to trade it with anyone else's life. On the other hand, my life could have been much better if I had the amount of gumption, ability to commit and strength of character of “Jewel”.

   
   I cried unchecked, pondered and reflected, able to see the positive about the wrongs in my life. I realize that, at times, we do what we have to do, without regret, excuses or apology. I thank God. It touched me very deeply and profoundly, and I consider his book an unexpected and valuable gift. Nancy Johnson, nanart02@aol.com -- www.artsyfaces.com

   
Crystalee (06/16/03)

Now that I have successfully finished this book, (yes, in just a matter of days!) I can give it a rating of 5 stars!
Crystalee (06/14/03)

"Jewel" is a story of compassion and love- between a mother and her special daughter, between her and her other children, and between her and her husband. This novel is very well-written and a definite page turner. Once you pick it up, you wont be able to put it down. The suspense between chapters leaves you wondering what is going to happen next, and the story is very heartwarming. I am only halfway through the novel, but I am loving it and finding myself reading numerous chapters in one day. The story is beckoning me now- I can't wait to see what happens now that Jewel has left behind her old life and has started a new one with her family!
Fahreen (12/17/02)

this book was so long and it sucked!
i had to do it for a book report and I slept everytime i tried reading it!
SLK (03/24/02)

Jewel is a very powerful novel by Bret Lott, describing the true hardships of raising a daughter who never grows up. Jewel is willing to go on a journey without any direction and without any money across the country in search of help for Brenda Kay. A very powerful and moving novel, one i truly couldn't put down.
  • Page
  • 1

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.