Reader reviews and comments on Seize The Night, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Seize The Night

by Dean Koontz

Seize The Night by Dean Koontz X
Seize The Night by Dean Koontz
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 1999, 401 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 1999, 443 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 19 reader reviews for Seize The Night
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Tom Brooker (07/24/12)

Beautiful nonsense
Strip out all of the obvious weaknesses of "Seize the Night" — the maddening, superfluous detail upon detail; the overworked similes and metaphors; the ridiculously impossible plot; the improbable oh-so-cool banter — and you still have a book well worth reading. There are passages in this book that are stunningly beautiful, worth reading and re-reading. There are insights and perspectives that are uniquely profound and tackle weighty issues: God, love, death, friendship, parenting, forgiveness, fear and courage. When Dean Koontz is being pure Koontz, and all the other nonsense is skimmed away, what is left is poetic and rife with impact. I'll be looking for Koontz when tries less to be a storyteller and more to be writer.
Jack Poleski (10/13/10)

Koontz seizes his readers patience
This book is extremely slow-moving compared to previous Koontz page -turners. It seems to lack the necessary insight and depth that readers expect when reading a sequel. Seize the night seems to be a mediocre plot written in the same place and using the same characters as in the prequel "Fear Nothing". The only interesting addition seems to be the addition of Mungojerrie the magical cat. But is this anything new or innovative compared to many of the fantastically talented and charming animals and creatures in other Koontz novels?
This reader thinks not.
The only reason I finished this book was out of the loyalty towards Koontz and probably to warn other readers to stay away from this one.
If you didn't read SEIZE THE NIGHT by Dean Koontz, then FEAR not, because you didn't really miss anything... sorry.
Lanni (07/14/10)

Nap time
It normally takes me about two-three days to read a book - any book, mind you, not just the ones I love. Four days tops. It took me seven months to finish this one. I read around ten books in between that time. It took me six of those months just to get through the first 100 pages. It has an excellent plot and good characters - but no one in the world needs that much description. There's like 28 pages just about the monkeys, and they come back for all of two pages at the end of the book, if that. Seriously put me to sleep, that book did. It was painful to slug through at times, and I haven't said that about a book for fourteen years. It was far too rambling most of the time - Chris may be interesting, but he knows how to go on and on like an energizer bunny until everyone passes out - went off course and more. There was about one sentence of dialogue for every fifty or so pages, at least for the first three hundred pages. If he cut that book in half, it'd be a much better read. Good book, just...difficult to get through or to even want to keep reading.
smarterthnu (04/02/10)

This Book Was Terrible
This book almost put me to sleep with all of the out-dated surfer lingo and painfully over described surroundings.
Laurel H (06/22/08)

a great 2nd
This a great 2nd book in what I hope will be an ongoing series It left me wanting more Chris Snow and his wonderful assortment of friends, including the great Mungojerrie, voted Koontz's greatest ever character by my two feline friends, Tigger and Monkeybat.
Audrianna (04/02/07)

Awesomeness
This book was very thrilling. It had me on the edge of my seat. Koontz describes his characters in detail so that you can visualize everything that is going on. This book is a must read, that will make you want to read on. It is definitely a page turner.
warcover (02/03/05)

Having just read this book made me curious to see other readers' comments, and no surprise, most of the reviews here and at Amazon.com, while lean, are positive (which "awesome" means, I think).
Koontz, well practiced and effective at crafting compelling yarns of this sort does yet another admirable job.
The characters here are in large part convincing, though the story drags towards the middle, plus some of the dialogue between the central character and his bestest buddy is thin (advocates of "awesome" see "lame"). One almost gets the sense that Dean had painted what he wanted, gotten bored with the composition, and was eager to get it over with, filling in the gaps in order to move on to his next project.
All that said, "Seize the Night" is not only engrossing entertainment but Dean Koontz at his best (meaning it isn't Blake or Melville, but then nor is it Stephen King, which is a good thing and about the highest praise any living writer in this genre could hope to have said about his work).

Overall? It's awesome. Dude.
Anonymous (01/12/05)

I like most of D.K's stuff but,this SIEZE THE NIGHT...???? I couldn't wait to put it down. Rambling on for pages with self indulgent descriptions of nothing happening......and then concluding with avery unconvincing PARADOX !!!



Al KAMINSKIS (AUSTRALIA)
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: American Histories
    American Histories
    by John E. Wideman
    In American Histories, a collection of 21 short stories, John Edgar Wideman draws America's present ...
  • Book Jacket: I Found My Tribe
    I Found My Tribe
    by Ruth Fitzmaurice
    Ruth O'Neill was only 28 when she married film director Simon Fitzmaurice in 2004. Changing her...
  • Book Jacket: The Art of the Wasted Day
    The Art of the Wasted Day
    by Patricia Hampl
    Patricia Hampl wants you to know that daydreaming is not a waste of a day. Nor is spending time ...
  • Book Jacket: Circe
    Circe
    by Madeline Miller
    Towards the end of Madeline Miller's novel Circe, the titular nymph is questioned by her son ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Music of the Ghosts by Vaddey Ratner

A love story for things lost and restored, a lyrical hymn to the power of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Other People's Houses
    by Abbi Waxman

    A hilarious and poignant novel about four families and the affair that changes everything.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Leavers

The Leavers by Lisa Ko

One of the most anticipated books of 2017--now in paperback!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T E H N Clothes

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.