Reader reviews and comments on A Night Without Armor, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Night Without Armor

by Jewel Kilcher

A Night Without Armor by Jewel Kilcher
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1998, 160 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 1999, 160 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for A Night Without Armor
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

leoniez (12/19/06)

Not bad at all
I picked this book up at my school library and thought that it was truly a refreshing read. Sure, some of her poems may not be as polished as the works of great writers like Eliot or Heaney, but they have earned the right to be called poetry too.

Her works leap from an adult impulse to a childlike freedom, and through her curt prose, allow you to soak in the emotions on your own without painting on too much. Although the inevitable cliches of writing about love and lost are ever-present in this collection, Jewel is not one to mince her words into pretty rhythms and her poetry manages to strike you with enough clarity of a face-to-face dialogue.

Nevertheless, if you are looking for FABULOUS poetry, this book wouldn't provide much. Go buy Szymborska.
Marta Miscichowska (04/07/05)

Intruiging and Inspiring
This book is an easy read which makes it more appealing to people who are not familiar with poetry.
It is well written and raw, I enjoyed it and recommend it as a late night read.
Erica (02/06/05)

I am 18 and I found this poetry book very inspiring. I do not agree with the review written earlier about Jewel's poetry. When reading this you will find that some things are very straight forward and other poems have a deeper meaning to them. The entire book is brutely honest. I find it refreshing to hear from an artist that their life was never nor is now perfect. Jewel speaks the truths and writes about every type of emotions. If you're feeling something and want something to relate to, you will be able to find a poem in here that will help.
max (05/20/04)

this book was VG, jewel was bold and wrote what she felt wich (to me) is brave.
It was in a form of poetry that is rarely (if ever) used like in her song 'Peaces of you" she used one emotion to inflict meany emotions.
this singer/poet has never disapointed me.
Sarah J (04/06/04)

i feel that the only reason this book was published was because she was a popular singer. if it were anyone else i feel this book would have gone no where. personally i think her style is very elementry and to me it seems like she wrote the book in a day using little thought. i do not feel she should be praised for her unskilled writing and i would not recomend this book to an enimy.
Richard David (10/16/03)

I have always listened to jewels music, she has inspired me numerous times. I had the chance to read her book "A Night Without Armor" for the first time when i saw it at our local library. i could not put it down. I read the book all the way through the first time and am currently working on an assighnment about my new favorite poet. Im 19 and attending North Country Comunity College. Loved the book and i hope to be reading more from Jewel in the future.
Kathy (07/29/03)

This is an amazing book. Jewel Kilcher is a very talented poet, author, singer and song writer. You will not be disappointed.
Duncan (06/09/03)

I love the book's image and creative uses of feeling and certainty. It's an ill book, and even though there are some that are slightly over my head, it's my favorite! So much emotion, jewel is a lady with something to say. I especially like how she takes little life experiences, observations, and memories and finds a brilliant way to portray them... Did "I spell brilliant wrong?
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Ghachar Ghochar
    by Vivek Shanbhag
    The Bengaluru (aka Bangalore) that has dominated economic news headlines over the past decade is the...
  • Book Jacket: Caught in the Revolution
    Caught in the Revolution
    by Helen Rappaport
    So taken were BookBrowse's First Impression reviewers by the inside look at the start of the Russian...
  • Book Jacket: Hillbilly Elegy
    Hillbilly Elegy
    by J.D. Vance
    In this illuminating memoir, Vance recounts his trajectory from growing up a "hillbilly" in ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Lola
    by Melissa Scrivner Love

    An astonishing debut crime thriller about an unforgettable woman.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Mercies in Disguise
    by Gina Kolata

    A story of hope, a family's genetic destiny, and the science that rescued them.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Censorship, like charity, should begin at home: but unlike charity, it should end there.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -