Reader reviews and comments on The Gates of The Alamo, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Gates of The Alamo

by Stephen Harrigan

The Gates of The Alamo by Stephen Harrigan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2000, 580 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2001, 580 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for The Gates of The Alamo
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ronaldo (06/21/14)

The Gates of the Alamo
I love when a novel takes me places and I feel as if I am in another world. The Gates of the Alamo did just that. A vast epic novel that is simply engrossing. I loved the character development and at no time during the reading of this novel did I not feel entertained. Very few novels make me feel as I am there. Lonesome Dove, The Killer Angels, and Ride the Wind are three others that come to mind that carry the reader away from modern times and place you in the moment.
Guy (09/06/04)

I enjoy historical novels and this one is very good. It played out the humanity of the defenders while maintaining their honor.
Lesley R (01/30/04)

I found this book to be a real page-turner. Normally this genre does not attract my attention much, but as a native Texan I felt to need to look a little closer at this one. Now I am extremely glad that I did. I think I have around 3/4 copies of it now.
D. Joseph (08/25/03)

Growing up in the part of Texas in which this book is set, I was aware, but not particularly interested in the developments surrounding the siege at the Alamo. This book changed that for me.

Although situations in which the story's protagonists find themselves seem contrived at times, the fullness of the tale and attention to literary detail make this novel a compelling read. Questions about whether the story is pristine in its accuracy, or whether the characters might actually have existed become almost irrelevant.

If I would allow one complaint, it would be that the author seems to have focused excessively on the staging activities and prelude to the assault with very little development of the aftermath. The summary ending seemed to me and an unfair reward for my investment in a novel of nearly 600 pages.

Still, when viewed not so much as history text as the well-written, fact-based book of fiction that it is, The Gates of the Alamo will not disappoint.
william (12/11/02)

This book was one of the best books i have got in a long time
Anonymous (11/20/02)

I enjoyed this book. It was assigned to my AP English class and I enjoyed reading it. The ending disappointed me and the mass of characters (especially all of the Colonels and Captains of lesser importance) became confusing at times. Overall, a good read.
ofilia trevino (06/09/02)

i like this book because it deals with history (especially Texas history). My class is reading this for the summer and it has some parts that are in my area like Copano and Refugio.
Anonymous (06/23/01)

Be the first to review this book!.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Happiness
    Happiness
    by Heather Harpham
    Of the 53 reviews submitted for Happiness, 49 readers rated it a four- or five-star book for an ...
  • Book Jacket
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...
  • Book Jacket: New People
    New People
    by Danzy Senna
    Danzy Senna has spent virtually her entire writing career exploring the complicated intersections of...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
News of the World by Paulette Jiles

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Young Jane Young
    by Gabrielle Zevin

    From the author of The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry comes a novel that will have everyone talking.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Resurrection of Joan Ashby

The Resurrection of Joan Ashby by Cherise Wolas

Epic, propulsive, incredibly ambitious, and dazzlingly written--a story about sacrifice and motherhood.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I's A D Before D

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.