Reader reviews and comments on The Testament, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Testament

by John Grisham

The Testament
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 1999, 435 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2000, 544 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 38 reader reviews for The Testament
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Beckyh (06/23/15)

Not your usual Grisham - in a good way
I started this book thinking “oh no, another bad will, lawyers fighting it out” book. I was wrong. This book is really a character study of two people: one selfless, powerless, kind, gentle, loving, astute; the other selfish, brutish, drunk, egotistical, powerful. It is also about a land – beautiful, treacherous, unforgiving, abundant. When these forces meet, the story begins.

Grisham is a great storyteller; his characters are real, the situations are plausible, the tension is unending. THE TESTAMENT has a clear message, told clearly in a powerful way. This is a story that will stay with you. I’m glad I read it and you will be too.
5 of 5 stars
alexander young (11/23/11)

Not Your Usual Grisham
Too heavy on sleep-inducing South American flora-fauna and geography lessons. Really doesn't rate with what we've come to expect from Grisham. I wound up skimming the last ten-or-so chapters.
Also, the novel is excessively heavy on matters of what we generally describe as faith. He seems to assume, in the way he tells the yarn, that the reader shares what I take to be his own religious beliefs.
Actually, I might better have entitled this review, "Grisham Finds Jesus in Jungles of Brazil."
Palesa Mpuru (10/08/09)

Thrilling
The book is excellent. Though we turn to depend on wealth and power, but self spiritual healing is important to overcome your life's tribulations; as we go through Nate's escapade. An emotional ending...[spoiler removed- ed]
Anand (01/21/05)

Takes you to the interior jungles & flooding rivers of The Pantanal. Those will stay afresh ever in my eyes. Good Work
luc (01/12/05)

You are the man. You can do it. I hope you make a book about fooball, not like the Bleacher you made.
Kelly (12/22/04)

Great, great BOOK!!!!!!
Very interesting!
Michael B (11/13/04)

It moved fairly well with a good ending. Not what I had expected from Grisham. I expected more courtroom drama than would typically be in his books. Worth a read though.
Shebby (04/05/04)

I was never a book reader (never found the time). I had to read The Testament for my English final. What a great book! I am now a John Grisham book reader!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.