MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reader reviews and comments on 3001, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

3001

The Final Odyssey

by Arthur C. Clarke

3001 by Arthur C. Clarke X
3001 by Arthur C. Clarke
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 1997, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 1998, 274 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for 3001
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

rob

well i thought it was good book to read. i only read 2061 and 3001 but i saw the movies 2001 and 2010. thats it from me.
José F. Barral

The publication of Arthur C. Clarke's 3001: The Final Odyssey marks not only the 1997 "birthday" of HAL the computer (as given in the novel 2001, though the film had it five years earlier). It is also Clarke's eightieth year and his sixtieth as a publishing science fiction author. Only one or two other living English science fiction writers--perhaps J.G. Ballard and Brian W. Aldiss--have had a comparable impact on the field, or could lay as solid a claim to the mantle left by H.G. Wells.

3001" echoes not only the earlier novels in the series -- "2001" (1968), "2010" (1982), and "2061" (1987)--but many other Clarke tales as well. When revived astronaut Frank Poole is given a "grand tour" of the world of "3001," it calls to mind a similar travelogue in "Imperial Earth" (1975)
Michael Hickerson

File under: beating a dead horse.

Arthur C. Clarke returns to the saga he created in 2001 and continued in 2010 and 2063 with this entry in the series, that is a disappointment in so many ways. Frank Poole is revived in the year 3001 (yes, that Frank Poole who apparently died in the 2001) and has some wacky adventures from there, involving the monoliths.

Clarke fails because he tries to explain the mystery behind the monoliths and destroys the awesome power that was them.

Disappointing.
  • Page
  • 1

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.